How reading books changed me and why I think trying out new things is not THAT bad.

in #life6 years ago

Hey!
My name is Trunk. Yes that is indeed my real name but that is another story, maybe next time I'll tell you.
But first of, let me tell you how reading books changed me and why I think trying out new things is not THAT bad.
When I was young I never really had the patience on books, especially the ones with no pictures in it.
You see when I was about 5 years old, my parents were out and about a lot because of their jobs and other responsibilities, and my older siblings had school and other responsibilities too, so I end up going with my Mom and Dad wherever they go since my classes ends early and no one can look after me. So I spend most of my afternoon lounging around my parents’ office while they do their work.
To stop me from whining every time I get bored Mom and Dad bought me a portable CD player. That was how I passed dull hours in their office waiting for them to tell me it’s finally time to go home. So you can clearly understand why I’m not enthusiastic at all when my parents co-workers tell me to drop the portable player and start reading a book.
A year has passed and I turned 6 I still had to go with my parents after class and everything was going out as smoothly as it always has been, my Dad bought me new CD’s and I spent the whole afternoon watching all of them. At night I always made sure to charge the portable player so that the next day I could just turn it on and start watching right away. The next day I woke up later than usual so I pretty much panicked and just straight up prepared to go to school and waking my Dad up so that he can send me to school, with so many thing happening at once, at last I was ready to go to school and that’s what I did but I completely forgot about my player and that it was still plugged.
Let’s back track a bit, so before giving me the player my parents warned me not to overcharge it and that I should be responsible with the player if I break it they would not be buying me a new one.
Anyway so when my Mom and Dad picked me up from school they told me what happened to my player (that it overcharged and that it wouldn’t turn on anymore.) I was very upset and I begged them to buy me a new one but they just wouldn’t budge. So in the office I was pretty much bored out of my mind. I did my homework, I arranged my bag for tomorrow, threw away old wrappers from deep within my bag and after that I can’t remember what I did to pass time.
A few days has passed since the incident and I think I spent most of my time in my parents’ office sleeping and doing my homework. One day though, my sister came home from school bringing with her, her usual pile of books that she borrowed in her school’s library and since I am already done with homework and I am not sleepy at all since I slept in my parents’ office I began reading the back of the books she had with her and I remember that book that caught my attention it was “The call of the wild” by Jack London. I don’t remember much of the story now but I do remember feeling really excited when things go cahoots crazy in the book.

I don’t know how but at the end of the week I finished reading 2 books that my sister bought with her and at some point I started to tell her to bring me one book after another and I read them whenever I am in my parents office. It was also at that time when I realized that some of the movies I watched were inspired by books so started reading those too! I started to read more and more until I couldn’t count how many books I’ve read! (I still love watching movies mind you but let me tell you that when a book is made into a movie, the book will ALWAYS be better.)
It did not only enhance my vocabulary but I also discovered one of my greatest passions: Art. It all started out as me trying to imagine what this certain character looked like but I always end up mixing things up and I remember thinking that I should draw the character to really let me put a face on this hero in this book and that is exactly what I did! I started out with crappy alien looking characters till I practiced and practiced and practiced to achieve what I can do today (I still need more practice though hahaha).

Honestly, looking back, if I stayed stubborn and continued onto disliking the idea of books I think I would not be who I am today.
Just go out try new things like buying a different Ice Cream flavor because your usual is not available, cutting your hair shorter rather than just getting a trim, switching brands because you saw that this brand might be better or simply trying out a new way to do things. Who knows you might like the change. After all, no matter how ironic it seems, change is the only constant thing in this world and to move forward you have to change.
Or you might not like it at all! Who knows right? But then just as what the baboon: Rafiki said to simba in lion king, you can either learn from the past or run from it.

That’s all for today,
Bye!

Sort:  

Congratulations @trunky! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trunky! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52