Time to appreciate! ~ The senses.. which one is the best??

in #life6 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg

As I was taking a walk today I started thinking about which sense I was the most grateful for. Could I live without one of them?

Seeing

Have you ever gone outside and just looked? There is so much detail in the trees, the grass, even the houses. Sometimes I have these days where everything I look at seems so clear and whole, and I would never want to live without those moments. They are literally eye-opening ;).

Smelling

Am I the only one that smells the changes of seasons in the air? All the memories I have made during a time where the air smelled similar fill me with this strange type of melancholy that makes my heart sing.

Tasting

OMG food. Do I even have to add anything to that? Honestly, sometimes food is the only thing that can lighten up my day. And not just chocolate (although that's sometimes necessary, too) but healthy, jummy food that just makes me feel soo good. Just like any sense, really, it can bring back memories. Say, for example, you taste a type of candy you used to eat as a child but had totally forgotten about. It's magical!

Touching

I read about this type of meditation once where you try to concentrate your mind on one thing around you, looking at it and seeing what it feels like when you touch it. And I don't mean your boyfriend, lol. Although that could work as well, I guess :P. But it's a great way to bring yourself to the present moment and learn to consciously enjoy it. I think if I couldn't touch things I would feel disconnected to the world around me.

Hearing

It's not just music. Music can help you connect with the deepest parts of your soul and figure out what exactly you're feeling. For instance, some songs just randomly make me cry. Memories, I guess! But there are also different sounds. Take a moment right now to sit still and listen. What do you hear? Cars driving by, birds chirping? The sound of your loved ones speaking? There's nothing better than hearing that :).

All in all, maybe you can tell, I am soo grateful for all the things I get to experience through the awesomeness of my body. If I had to, I could probably live without one of them because then another would be stronger. But I'm just glad I don't have to :)

#gratefulvibes

What about you? What do you think?

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By <@316595664467263492>

Sort:  

This is tough one and one I've wondered about before. For me it just reminds me that I should be grateful that I still have them all and that I should make the most of it. You never know when one might be taken away.

That's exactly what I was thinking :)

I guess seeing is the best among all the senses because to live a life without a
sight is very unbearable. @tripswithtam.

True. But then imagine not being able to taste food 😱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68