You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is marriage an institution or a sacred union: I now pronounce you man and wife

in #life7 years ago

A marriage, like life, is what you make of it.
Like anything good it takes time and effort. I am happily married, and happy that I am married. It just makes so much of my life better.

I didn't marry for life however. My wife is Greek orthodox and we had an orthodox wedding. So there is no 'until death do you part'. There is no get out of jail free card. there was not even a 'do you take this woman' question.

So for me (and my wife) this marriage is eternal. This is it forerver. Just think about that for a second.

And the decision to contract this union was made on our first date- by both of us at the same time.

When it works, it works. That does not mean it is all sweetness and light. There is still a lot of hard work that needs to be done to keep things working.

And that, I think is the difference between a marriage that works and one that doesn't - the willingness by both parties to put in the effort.

And now I'm off to put in some more effort and chop up a pumpkin for my wife so she can make a nice stew :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70