Self- Control is a Ridiculous Concept

in #life6 years ago

Isn’t it? When you really think about it. I am me, yet I can’t control me? Then who is doing the controlling? It’s like we’re souls driving spaceships. The ship is the hardware, and the onboard computer is our brain, and we’re in charge. Some spaceships and computers are better equipped than others and we’re all learning how to get through space with them. And we can only communicate with other ships through the onboard computer, we never get to see the controller... Maybe a better analogy than spaceships is those giant robots with human pilots, like in the movie Pacific Rim.

Anyways, it just struck me as odd because it seems that if we can control anything, it should be ourselves.

F085242F-67A0-46D1-8B8F-1A5D8523E0DC.jpeg

Sort:  

Have you ever wanted to do something, but laziness, physical condition, or anything else does not let you do it? Have not you seen how some people want to quit smoking or alcohol, but are unable?

What shall we say about these people, the vicious and the lazy, control themselves, even though they don't act according to their will?

It is true that we should control ourselves, but we do not always do it, many times we let the impulses and the vices, as well as the weaknesses, control us. That's why self-control is important.

Thanks for this snack of thought:)

It depends how to translate the "control" term. One controls a machine but not the mind. A machine just follows my commands and does not build up willful resistance to them.

It's more like riding a horse and not being able to direct the horse. If I have a tight mind (and body) the horse will fight me and if I am careless, it will do what it wants, either.

I must let the horse do what it can best, leave it free and release tension and, at the same time, give myself totally to the horse, its strength and power in sync with my own power to create a space of orientation without ill determination.

I guess our will can be compared with this... it's not about "controlling" but "letting directing take place" from the participants to their best abilities.

Or another analogy. Being a director at a movie set. If the director is too rigid he will produce tension in the actors. If he lets the scenes happen without passion, the play also becomes weak. But if he engages with a high spirit and wants the actors to show their very best abilities it will become a much better scene.

Can I name myself as a victim of my own mind? ... It often happens that I am and that I blame others to have control over "me" while I fell for this construction of my own mind.

This is great! Love it! Expanding on the thought kernel of my post and refining. It’s something that I’ve been addressing for years. I’m into reading about breaking and creating habits now, about creating scenarios and daily routines that make it easier to stay in line with my best self, to act with purpose. This month I’ve started making my bed and I’m experimenting with an extended morning routine that can become habit. There’s a guy Jon Kwik (Kwik Learning) who teaches being in charge of your brain. He preaches that you must win the first hour of your day because you gain momentum with each purposeful success.

Your comment is one of the most thoughtful that’s been left on my page in the year and a half I’ve been on this site.

Thanks for letting me shine. We should treat each other like horses, so you can tickle those commenters to become responders more in the fashion of this theme:) Admiration of wise ones and the following inspiration can be a gem. Though Kwik hopefully sheds light on his sources? Never heard of him but that sounds like Zen or Buddhist stuff and I am hoping that he is not this type of guy who steals it from asian philosophy and attributes it all on his own vest. I beg your pardon. ... And now that I said that, I also must remind myself of that what I so far learned I got from some hilarious and wholehearted monks and nuns. They never fail to either soothe me, give me refuge or make me laugh.

A lot I like your morning routine change. That is indeed a good practice!
I think I should try a similar thing. Cannot take my bed though, because it is also my couch.

"See you"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60