An Experience At The LA County Fair

in #life8 years ago (edited)

The LA County Fair is hosted every September on 543 acres of fairgrounds. It is considered the 4th largest fair in the United States earning about $250 million, which has been said is equivalent to the Super Bowl earnings every year. I believe this as the prices at this fair were very high. Going to this fair for one day came to be about $350 dollars. This is when I began to think maybe the LA County Fair is a little overrated as it would have been cheaper or about the same cost to go to Universal Studios or Disneyland. This annual fair first opened back in 1922 so it has been an annual tradition for about 94 years. Today I would like to share my experience at the fair and show you the things I liked and disliked about this fair.

PRESS PLAY to see the LACF Experience!🎥

What To Find At LACF

  • Traditional fair food
  • Traditional fair games
  • Traditional fair rides
  • Shows
  • Farm
  • Learning Center
  • Concerts
  • Petting Zoo
  • Heritage Square
  • Igloo
  • Vendors
  • Restaurants
  • Bars

What I liked about LACF
I knew that there are multiple concerts at this fair, which go on sale through Ticketmaster usually, but I did not know that the fair gives them out for free everyday starting at 2PM. I unfortunately, got here 20 minutes after they had stopped giving them out, but do recommend to take advantage of this if you are planning to visit this fair in the future to make the entrance ticket worth it. I also liked that there are so many things to see and do. I literally spent 9 hours at the fair and still did not cover all there was to see and do. I liked how there are activities for everybody from kids to teens to adults. There were a few bars were you were able to sit and enjoy a drink and fair atmosphere. There was also a live band going around the fair as well as a stage on the heritage part of the fair playing Latin music throughout the day and night. Both were very enjoyable.

There were so many options for food. This fair particularly focuses on creating everything fried from vegetables, to meats and desserts like Twinkies and Oreos fried! Not everything was good, but I did enjoy some of the food, which I will share on a second post. Considering that it was a very hot day I did have agua fresca and micheladas, which were also very pricy. The agua frescas were $9.00 each and the Micheladas were $14.00 each. For a moment I felt as if I was in Las Vegas with the prices. There were many options when it comes to rides and games for kids and adults as well.

Another thing I found interesting is the expositions such as the Jurassic Park and Igloo where you can icekate for a small entrance fee. The petting zoo and animal shows were also quite interesting and grabbed kid’s attention. If you like to shop there were many vendors from clothing, accessories, jewelry and art throughout the fair. I purchased some lotions, natural sand exfoliators and accessories. One of the prettiest things to see at this fair is the flower garden. From the outside décor to different flower arrangements and patios it was just beautiful! This is one of the things I enjoyed the most and had no entrance charge. One thing I did not get to do is the wine tasting at the fair as I did not have enough time, but it would have been nice to check out as I do love wine. Overall, I did have a lot of fun exploring the fair, trying the food and playing some games as well as the enjoying the fair entertainment.

What I Did Not Like About the Fair
The fair offered many things to see and do, but the prices I think were too high. I did not like this as I could have gone to an amusement park for about the same cost. I do not remember the fairs being so costly when I was little. I also did not enjoy some of the food in certain locations. I think that for the high price you pay they should provide better quality food. The amount of tickets needed for the rides was too much as well. With $50 dollars gets a couple into about 4 rides or play about 10 games. Other than the high prices and the quality of some food, I had a great time. I would go again, but only if I am able get free tickets for a good show and eat before going to the fair this way I only go to the places that are worth it now that I know better about the best food locations and spend less.

The cost for the fair for 2 adults
Parking-$20.00
Entrance-$40.00 ($20.00 each)
Food and drinks- $130
Rides and Games- $100
Purchases- $60
Total Cost- $350.00

Thank you for your support and till next time!
Follow me @travelista

Sort:  

Me encantan tus fotos, la forma en que describes los lugares que visitas, la manera en que organizas tus publicaciones, pero sobre todo....me encanta tu ronrisa.

Muchisimas gracias! Me recuerdas que debo hacerlo en español también! Gracias por apoyo y lindo comentario!

MMMMMMM corn-dog looks mighty tasty ;)

They certainly were! I think this is one of the things I enjoyed the most at the fair, plus the great companion I had! You need to try the ones from Disneyland!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37