Can Friendships Stand The Test of Time?

in #life7 years ago

Every person has such friends in their life who can do any thing for them, or they can do anything for those friends. But really, I never had such friends. I don't even try to make such friends because I am just too passionate about my sleep and I never let come anybody in between meand my tryst with dreamland. haha! I always wish to have my girlie gang like “Sex and the City." Those friends who always stick with me like glue and see me through my ups and downs.





It’s not that I’m not friendly. I smile a lot, and sometimes I spend my time with those people whom I like. But I do have a grave weakness – I am a phone-o-phobic. I rarely pick up my phone for chatting with friends. When I do try to talk with people, within five minutes of the conversation my eyes just shut down. It doesn't mean that I don't talk with people, I do with people who are good to me. Many times I hear people talk about their 2 AM friends. Those friends with whom you can share everything, and you can call them at an unearthly hour.

I still have my old, school and university friends whom I used to call my best friends once, but they all are too busy in their lives now. They just tag me in memes on social media instead of saying hello. But when I joined here, I found some good friends and here is one with whom I can talk all night without getting bored. That person has all the qualities that should be in a good friend. I don't want to mention who that person is. I think when that person reads this, they will understand automatically.





Talking about friends takes me back to my student life. Let me tell you a quick story about how I was in my school and college days.




When I was hardly six years old, a boy in my school’s corridor dared to bang into me, and he looked like a pint sized version of Hercules, I pulled the collar of that boy and looked deep into his eyes and asked him “Do you know who I am?” Pretty badass for a little girl, huh? I also have hazy memories of poking another boy in his ear with a pencil and many more shenanigans like these. Due to all these mischievous habits of mine, I used to get scolded by my teachers and parents from time to time.





The most precious memories I have, are of my life in that school. I bunked most of the geography classes because that class was too boring. I barely did my homework. My school friends are the ones who were the witnesses of all my good and bad things. After that, I spent the most experimental years of my life in college. I did a lot of experiments on animals as I belong to a pharmacy background. So I had to do it. Sometimes I even killed a few animals by mistake because I gave them an overdose of drugs. I took that as fun those days. But the saddest moment was when I killed expecting mice because of an overdose. After that, I stopped such experiments and never took part in them. After my studies, I started working and made new friends and somewhere down the line completely lost touch with my school mates.





As time passed, I completely lost my connection with all my friends. Sometimes I really wonder why as we grow older, it gets more difficult for us to reach out. I think twice before making a new friend these days and think about stuff like, Can we share the same wavelength? Is he compassionate? Does she have a sense of humor? We take millions of year to make up our minds, but still, I don't understand why should friendships come with an expiry date? Should not we fight tooth and nail to hold them alive!




Sometimes I feel like social networking sites are making us unsocial. Because we are living happily in our cocoons. We spend endless hours on the internet and reading books on philosophy to soothe our aching souls. We rarely do visit a friend until they invite us, we only call when it’s quite necessary. And on their birthday we just paste a message on their Facebook wall.





Maybe what I'm trying to say is that you should hold on to your friends no matter what. They are your lifeline and without them your life is simply incomplete. Put in effort to meet with them no matter how busy life gets. Make sure to share and listen. Every relationship is one of give and take but at least in friendship, this give and take is of feelings and that's all that matters.







All The Images Are Under CCO Public Domain


Sort:  

some friends are temporary... :/
i had experienced...

we have different perspective in life.... i have friends whos with me since childhood.... we are actually bestfriends... we attended same school... were classmates fron pre school to college.... im godmother of her child.... we still see each other from time to time even if were busy at work....

we misses each other.... we dine out sometimes to catch out.... and talk and talk and talk

Yes, but when one have such a friend the person should try also to keep it..because such friend are hard to come by.talking from experience

If enough effort is put by both friends, I think time doesn't even matter. I personally believe that proper communication is the fundamental key to ever lasting friendships.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68062.15
ETH 2637.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70