Unraveling The Mystery Of The MS. Found In A Bottle

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Recently, @stephen.king989 found a message in a bottle written in French floating in the St. Lawrence Seaway.
Photo courtesy of @stephen.king989

The details of that experience are detailed in his post here: https://steemit.com/message/@stephen.king989/i-found-a-message-in-a-bottle.

Intrigued by the mystery of who the creator of the message in the bottle is, I launched a research project.

Googling Felix-Antoine Quirion, the 7 year old author of the note, I found a Facebook page of an athletic man in his 20s or 30s. I also found a reference to that name in a list of people who were running a half-marathon. Could that be the same person?

This person seemed too old. Could he be the father of the 7 year old boy and have the same name? There were no references to family in the Facebook post, so I guessed I had stumbled on a coincidence. Further research revealed that there are 80 people with the surname Quirion in Sherbrooke. That is a lot of people to cold call with the crazy story that I am searching for a boy who wrote a message in a bottle.

Not to be disheartened, as I really love a mystery that needs solving, I continued my quest. Felix-Antoine was only 7 years old so I thought about calling schools, but then again, these days no one is going to cooperate with my crazy story about searching for a boy who wrote a message in a bottle.

Birth records and identity searches were not much help. But, then I tried an image search on "Felix-Antoine Quirion" and discovered this picture:

The caption of the picture read:

The Quirion-Martel family: Marie-France, Juliette, Félix-Antoine and Marianne.
IMACOM, RENÉ MARQUIS

and was writtern by Karine Tremblay a writer for "laTribune" in Canada. Furthermore, the boy in the picture looked to be around the age of the boy who wrote the message in a bottle.

I googled "Marie-France Quirion" and found a phone number. Perhaps, she is the boys mother or a relative. I called to get a French speaking woman on the line. I asked if she spoke English and while I was trying to explain my story she hanged up the phone. Not surprising. If I were to get a call about my 7 year old from a strange foreigner who did not speak my language, I might hang up too.

There remained the possibility of corresponding with "laTribune". After all, they are media and should be interested in this kind of human interest story. Meanwhile, I think found Karine Tremblay, the author of the article on Twitter. She might know the people in the photograph and have established lines of communication, or at least she would have a good reason to contact them and not be a total stranger.

I sent Karine this tweet, because a DM was not possible:
https://twitter.com/TheTranshuman/status/894324084636397568.
The tweet had this picture with it:
Quirion.png

While I'm waiting for a reply to my Tweet, I am sending a message to "laTribune" to locate Karine Tremblay. I hope not speaking French won't be a big obstacle.

I look forward to suggestions and comments, and don't forget to upvote.

I will update this post with comments if there are any further developments in my research...

Sort:  

UPDATE

I received this email from Felix Antoine's father:

Hi, I'm the father of Félix-Antoine Quirion.
He threw the green beer bottle in the Saguenay River in Quebec last July 14th.
He is a 9 years old boy and he lives in Sherbrooke, Quebec. He was in visit to his grandmother house when he decided to throw bottle in the sea.
He is very excited to know where and when the bottle was found.
Thank you for writting us and taking time for my son.
We are waiting for details of this adventure.
You can reply to this e-mail.
Thank you
René-Charles Quirion
P.S. My first langage is french, sorry for my english

I am sending him the link to @stephen.king989's blog post about the message in the bottle he found.

This is absolutely amazing!! I did not expect to wake up to this post this morning. I'm just getting ready for work so I'll keep it short, but maybe I can get the email through steemit.chat or discord so I can send a message to them.

Truly amazing work to find this boy, especially in French. That just makes it a tougher challenge.

I can't find @stephen.king989 on steemit.chat or discord, so here is the email address of felix's father (Rene-Charles Quirion): [email protected]

They are eager to learn where the bottle was found...

Have fun!

Oh wow. That's pretty cool.

Congratulations @transhuman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

really original post - voted, followed, and resteemed

Wow! This is such a cool post! Love it. Upvoted and resteemd :)

Congratulations @transhuman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

that's awesome the power of the message in a bottle 👍😁💖!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99