You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two In Three Abandoned Babies Die

in #life6 years ago

Such a sad reality, and brava to you for speaking about it, even though it's not the happiest of topics. This is something that everyone, not just South Africans, should be aware of because while the statistics may vary, this struggle is worldwide.

And on the other end of the spectrum, I know of a couple who tried for years to adopt (after struggling with infertility). They finally gave up because they ran out of money & hope. It hurts my brain that these amazing people - intelligent, good jobs, nice home - were continually passed over. Last I heard, they were looking into foster care - something I've wanted to do forever (I had foster sisters growing up), but I haven't even bothered to apply since the regulations are now so strict.

Here's to hoping that someday, statistics like this will be a thing of the past!

Sort:  

I hope so too @traciyork, but sadly it looks like they will only get worse. And adoption should NOT cost anything! It frustrates me so much that the cost of adoption is so high, that is scandalous in itself! I am attending a workshop next weekend where hubby and I will find out how we can become foster parents too, if I could I would take all of these kids into my home! I too am infertile, sigh, just.does.not.make.sense!

I completely agree! I'll be keeping you and your husband in my thoughts, and I hope the workshop goes well for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61888.55
ETH 3400.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50