Living in a small town

in #life6 years ago

Recently I went back to Johannesburg where I grew up to visit my daughter, and realised something really quickly.....I was done with big cities.
There are a few things that I appreciate about this type of city, and that is convenience (shops and suppliers everywhere), work availability and free availability of stress! Being able to see the family is the best thing for me in JHB.
That's about it!

20180627_181747-1.jpg

We moved to a small farmers community last December and have loved being part of a small community.
People refer to places by the people that love there. For example, "drive up to Japie's place and then turn right to find it".
I can't tell you how many times I've been working in the fields and had almost everyone that drives past give a hoot and a wave. I don't know most of the people, but it's the way of the town. Being friendly and courteous.
They also often stop and chat about what you're doing, offering advice and help.
If I need questions about anything answered you drop a WhatsApp to the community group (yup there is a group on WhatsApp and Facebook you can contact most of the people in the town on) and they will always have some great advice, even if that means to speak to Kobus about the question.

town-clipart-big-city-12.jpg

Is this not how a community should be?
We greet each other by name, we are the contacts should there be any need (from assistance at home to the need of trailer to move rubbish), no default to anger or frustration and friendship to boot.

Yes I've gotten used to the way of life and only realised how different it was when I went back to the city. Traffic, impersonal behavior and danger are all things that can stay away thank you!
Why youngsters fight to get in the big cities kind of makes sense due to the lack of work availability in small towns, but my oh my its such a pleasure moving from there as someone who is not chasing the big bucks dream anymore.

Life is what you experience in a small town, and my stress levels have dropped dramatically. That alone is worth gold.

That being said the one weakness(other than lack of work opportunities) of a small town is that everyone knows the news in the town.
Think of a family knowing everyone else's news, that's how it is because we're involved in each others lives.

redneck.jpg

You have the crazy lady, the mad guy, the pot heads, the chainsmoker, the ex policeman etc. Yup people talk and in a small town its more visible.

I know this is not everyone's cup of tea, but for me it's a wonderful life and a great way to bring up children.
I won't be moving back to the city ever again unless forced (how that will happen is beyond me).

Perhaps this will strike the right chord for others that are also tired of city life, so that they can take the leap, and reap the rewards for the leap.

Cheers

Sort:  

It is a good life. We enjoy its blessings.

Our family loved being in Stutterheim. Everybody is friendly and quite a few were weird, but that is wonderful, children thrive in that environment

I must say that it's really nice to watch the kids enjoy the simple things. Kids here are respectful and down to earth. It's good for our kids to be around that standard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65927.86
ETH 3481.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66