5 years ago I left Germany for Africa. Well, I'm still here! :)

in #life7 years ago

Heya Steemit folks!

1827 days ~ And what a ride it's been. On the 11th June 2012 I touched African soil here in Kenya for the very first time. 5 years later, today, I'm a complete new version of my former self. I'm sure if put next to each other, the two wouldn't even get along, that's how much I changed.

Leaving everything behind only to start a complete new life was the single best decision I ever made.
No kidding. I've become who I wanted to be. My life's journey lead me around the world (42 countries, it's just a number anyways) and the experiences and people molded me into who I am today.

Next to loads of self-exploration, adventure and other things; I've founded the non-profit organization in Kenya called Better Me (http://bettermefoundation.org)

151115-DSC_0495.jpg

Versch-002-2.jpg

designed and built a sustainable hobbit home in Kenya :-)

IMG_7754-2.JPG

and started an adventure tour company for entrepreneurs in South Africa called Nomad Convoy (http://nomadconvoy.co)

528A8573A1600.jpg

5 years, that's only about 3.5% of my life (I'm aiming for 140+) and it feels already like a lifetime of powerful experiences worth sharing. And yet here I am, still at the very beginning of my journey. Still so much to learn. So much to create. And so much to give.

Isn't life one crazy ride?!! Plus, the time we are living couldn't be more exciting!

But there's one thing I feel the need to point out here. Even though that should be common knowledge by now: Money doesn't bring happiness nor fulfillment. It's nothing but a tool, and only in the right hands it holds the power to enhance the life of all beings. Life should always come before profits. And the way to make it, is as important as the goal. Dirty money will always stay dirty.

I like to imagine myself 50 years from now, when my grandson asks me about my life's story. I see the story of a men with integrity and generosity. One that made a stand for what is righteous. One that cared far beyond himself. One that always listened to what others had to say. One happy men that truly lived his dreams.

"I'm starting with the man in the mirror
I'm asking him to change his ways
And no message could have been any clearer
If you want to make the world a better place
Take a look at yourself, and then make a change"

  • Michael Jackson - Man In The Mirror

That said, research showed that the average person pursuing happiness has much less financial means than the person pursuing profits. I can only confirm that. I see it all around me and in the mirror. All these incredible humans that could do tremendous positive change, if they would just have the means. If they wouldn't need to struggle on the basic levels of life. I wish there was a way to connect profiteers with change agents. Let them be complementing each other as the teams that really change the world in scale. On the flip side it's the struggle that makes them, us, become toughened, wise and powerful. I guess like in many things; balance is key.

Well, this should be enough thought for you peeps on a Tuesday eve.

LoVe from Kenya xx

Toto17353403_1438552459551124_4577058071802321816_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99