How Parkinson's Law took it's effect on my lifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

During the past two years, I fooled myself into thinking that I never procrastinate. I'd start every assignment given by my university professors the moment I received them, only stopping once I had completed them. This created the illusion that I had a strong work-ethic, that I was productive with my time, had all kinds of positive traits, and that starting any work or project was easy for me.

smarthomer.jpg
Picture from Google

What sustained the illusion was what came as a result:
My classmates would tell me I'm "smart", just because I was one of the few to complete a class assignment early and got better grades.
My friends would call me a "genius", because I had a better GPA than them and plan to graduate a year earlier.
People that I'd meet would say that I'm "confident", because I didn't seem to have any struggles or worries.

But I wasn't any of this to myself
I didn't have what I wanted and I was procrastinating by not working on the tasks that would give me what I deeply desired.

Screen Shot 2018-06-10 at 2.18.09 PM.png
-Timothy Ferriss, The 4-Hour Work Week

I did time-consuming work well, but it wasn't work that was important. My desire has been to not need to depend on a college degree and work a job to live a sustainable and happy lifestyle. This desire remained as a desire rather than a goal because I never worked to fulfill it while I was fooling myself that I was a hard worker.

I would say that the mindset I had senior year of high-school was so much better compared to the one I had these past two years. I say this because Parkinson's Law took its effect. I realized that I would need to leave school very soon and go along with everyone else to college to waste additional years of life just to end up working a job. Because of this, I looked to creating Youtube videos as a solution to creating a sustainable passive income that would be a part of the lifestyle I wanted. It doesn't matter that I had failed, or that I didn't specifically know what kind of videos I should be making, my mindset was so much better because I had tried and began to learn the necessary steps that I would need to take. The moment I stopped creating was when I started attending college, and I let college make me a loser since then.

parkinsons law.jpg
Picture from Google and edited on Adobe Photoshop

The diagram above is an accurate representation of how Parkinson's Law took it's effect on me. It's funny how this diagram is the complete opposite of what students call "senioritis". Students view "senioritis" as a bad thing because they stop caring about their grades and start to do what that love doing, but there is nothing wrong with that and I would highly encourage that sort of thinking. I am once again a year away from graduation, and the sense of urgency is back stronger than before. It is this urgency that makes me write this post though I don't write often, believing that it is a first of many more or will create ideas that will build my personal brand and make my desired lifestyle a reality.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tonylin! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62516.71
ETH 2436.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65