My tattoos #8 - mountain girl with a banjo

in #life7 years ago

20180125_142149.jpg

This tattoo has an interesting story. I was walking down main street in Whitesburg, KY when John Haywood, the proprieter of The Parlor Room tattoo shop, stopped and asked if I'd like to join he and Russell on a trip to the West Virginia Tattoo Convention.

When we got there, John offered to give me a tattoo that he would enter in a competition there. I agreed enthusiastically.

At the convention, I learned a lot about the origin of tattoos, specifically in modern North America.

The tattoo was done "freehand" which means john didnt use a stencil, and done the tattoo just like my skin was a sheet of blank paper. It shows a girl playing a banjo and represents my love forntge mountains, specifically the music they have inspired and fostered.

Love from the mountains,
Tommyinthesun

Sort:  

It looks something like the Japanese style of tattooing the way her face and hair looks, but with a southern twist. He did a really good job for free handing it. It looks good.

That is such a amazing Tattoo. Even more amazing that it was freehand! I got one a few months ago and it was sooo sketchy getting it I dont know why I never left the shop

Beautiful! I love the emotion in her face, it’s like she is singing from the depths of her soul like many of them did! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61