My tattoos #1

in #life7 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1517097520777.jpg

This is the first tattoo I ever got. It was a half sleeve of some imagery I liked from a 16th century litany book. I feel like the maternal energy of Mary is more accessible to me than the male deification of God. I find it easier to be in touch with my emotions and feelings with a female intermediary and confidant.

21maggio-stella-mattutina.jpg

In the litany book there would be a plate that had an image and a corresponding "litany".

0179=169 (1).jpg
0180=170.jpg

Stella Matutina
Morning Star

This scene tells about the combat between light and darkness. Eventually, morning is breaking. The giant rooster announces the rising sun, while the roaring lion takes flight and the incubi of the night (frightening bats and dragons) sail away in a dark cloud. Taking advantage of the first light of day a ship leaves harbor. The lemma proclaims Jesus’ message to the churches: “I am the root and offspring of David, the bright morning star” (Revelation 22:16). He is the promised one seen by the prophet Balaam. “A star shall advance from Jacob.” However, in this illustration the radiating star is covered with the bust of Mary which dominates the page.

“Stella matutina,” also known as “Stella marina” and “Lux matutina” (12C), and as “Stella maris,” used by Saint Bernard to explain the meaning of the name “Mary,” suggests and announces the rising sun of justice, Jesus Christ (Malachi. 4:3). The glory of her light is but light from eternal light, and praise of the neverending light of God’s love for us. . .

Here's an example of another one. I plan on using this image as the representation of Mary as opposed to the portrayal in the image I based this tattoo off of.

23617c17eb6c7d993924a2f09be19293.gif

And then mesh it with another image to surround her with angels.

e4ae8d85-d8a1-4c2c-8a20-6fc08f3d8409.jpeg

I will be posting about each of my tattoos in chronological order. Most work comes from the Parlor Room tattoo shop in Whitesburg, ky.

John Haywood done this one.

This is the website for John Haywood,s art.

John Haywoods website, click here

Love from an inked flesh vessel,
tommyinthesun

Sort:  

Yeah !tatoos , i like tatoos.

Am not straight with tatoos on me but yours looks beautiful. I like it when there is emotional connection between you and the tatoo on you. We don't have good ones over here. The image resolutions are beautiful too

Nice

I really like those tattoos they have a certain style of there own.

Not sure how I feel about the term inked flesh vessel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42