You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mansplaining: Thoughts on it from a man.

in #life8 years ago

Let me Transplain something for you and anyone who still has any doubt, men don't mansplain any more than women womansplain. I know because I've had to deal with each sex being perceived as the opposite.

Sort:  

That's hugely interesting! I'd love to know more about this!

I plan to write more about it. People tend to have an easier time seeing what the other is doing wrong than what they themselves are doing wrong. We tend to be more critical of men speaking about how they wish women could change than women speaking about how they wish men could change. I've been accused of mansplaining a lot because I've taken to try to explain why guys do the things they do, since I have a slightly different perspective. If I don't paint men in general or manhood as oppressive/violent someone would accuse me of mansplaining. This term is most definitely used as a coercion mechanism

On most of that I agree, apart from the Transexual part - as I'm entirely ignorant on that subject. Mind you, I do have a few Transexual friends. It'd be lovely to hear your story :)

I should be writing more about my experiences from transsexualism over time. One of my first posts actually touches on the subject of applying this tech to our potential medical needs. Others briefly mention my experience in society as both genders to make a point on my knowledge of something else. For example, for some reason people bring up their sexual issues to me when they find out that I am trans, so because of that I have a very good sense of what's taboo in sexuality, what people tend to struggle with and why.

There is one thing that really makes people uncomfortable when I speak about it and that is benefits and obstacles for each gender. Because everyone is quick to see the benefits they think the other gender has, but they won't see their own benefits as easily. They are quick to see what their own obstacles are, but have a hard time seeing what the obstacles are for the other gender. I've noticed I get a lot of criticism when I speak of the obstacles men face, but get praised if I speak of the benefits of being perceived as a man. If I speak of the obstacles women face I get praised, but if I speak of the benefits I get criticized.

Often when I speak of the struggles men face people use that word, mansplaining, to try to get me to shut up.

Oh wow. This is a totally awesome insight. I noted in your other comment that you are writing a book. I'd totally buy that just to see what your opinions on it were. Because it's not spoken about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55