How to be tight-ass in Melbourne! - Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

If you live in Melbourne or have even visited, you may understand why it has been voted one of the most livable cities in the world many years in a row.

There's so many things to discover in Melbourne such as great food and coffee, amazing street art, secret bars and many other surprises. Another surprise you'll get is when you go to pay for something! Not only is it one of the most livable cities, it is also one of the most expensive.

I personally would like to buy more steem and therefore paying $15 - $20 for lunch and $5 a pop for a coffee (and I drink shitloads) everyday is not going to help my cause.

I'm going to challenge myself to find the lowest cost stuff in Melbs so that I can invest the money I save. Whether you live in Melbourne or are just travelling on a budget, please join me on this quest and feel free to add your finds to the conversation!

For my first post on this subject, I'm starting with:

COFFEE

I am a massive coffee drinker and was previously paying $4.50 a coffee about 3 times a day!! Even if I only had one a day for the work week, that's still $22.50 a week just on coffee!

Despite being somewhat of a 'Coffee Snob', I decided to give the $1 7-Eleven coffee a go. I was actually surprised at how good this coffee is!! I have now made the switch and I am limiting myself to only one coffee per day saving $17.50 a week! The best part is that if you visit the 7-Eleven on the corner of Exhibition Street and Bourke Street on a regular basis, you will most likely end up getting your coffee's for free!

I'm now saving myself $22.50 a week on coffee. Being a tight-ass is paying off already!

Stay tuned for the next tight-ass installment!

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Come off it man - 7-11 coffee is a travesty - brew your own!

Thanks for your comment! I agree it's not the best coffee but it's not the worst either. I also have a portable grinder and an areopress but it's that's not the point of this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54