Happy Fathers Day!! From a Depressed DadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

It's Fathers Day in Australia and many Dad's are having a great time with their kids (myself included).

Unfortunately under the smiles and new socks many men are struggling with depression (myself included). Around 17% of Australian Men suffer depression and most suffer in silence.

One thing I have found from my own personal experience is that having a little one who squeals "Daddy!" in excitement when you come home, is one of the best feelings ever. I can't help but smile every time I watch my little girl innocently interact with the world. She is blissfully unaware that her Dad has a mental illness that is sometimes so crippling he can't get out of bed.

I have lived through two suicide attempts and the last one came about after my own Dad passed away. I felt so lonely and helpless without him that I decided I could no longer live in this world. It has been about 8 years since that time and I have come a long way from those very dark days.

Watching my 2yo daughter grow from a tiny baby into a little person has shown me how great life can actually be. Whilst I still live with depression, I feel like I have more purpose in the world. I just hope I can be as good a Dad as mine was.

To all the other Dad's out there struggling with depression, please know that you're not alone and there is always some light at the end of the tunnel. I would also urge you to find someone you trust to talk to (I know it's not easy, but it does help).

Happy Fathers Day!

Sort:  

Depression is hidden issue in familys, please share with your friends, get help and work towards to gain your health again. Sad when you feel alone sitting others around you. Meditation, paper therapy helps too.
When you write on a paper, it help you to express your feeling the one you been holding for long time. Please share this hidden mental side of society with each other and help those who are suffering with depression.

Thank you @ammee for commenting and sharing your thoughts. I have found that writing down my thoughts can help immensely.

A father you loved enough to miss is a treasure worth the world. I'm glad you're a survivor and get to experience the joy of being a father to your daughter, hard as it might be at times.

Great picture, by the way. Appropriate humor for a hard subject!

Thanks for your kind words @winstonalden and thanks for reading!

I really fell for you because I have seen my mom, this way for years. But she is changing now because I started to look into it, "because of a recent bachelor, I just like to learn everything", and I found out to important things. Our diet. If there is different vitamin and acids you are missing that can course depression. Vitamin B 12 and folic acid among others is very important. The next I will tell you maybe sound a little crazy in your ears, but I'm a electrical engineer so please follow me truth. Where is your wifi router placed in your house? hopefully not near your bedroom?.If so get as far away from you and your kids bedroom as posible or even put your devises on cable. The reason for this is that a wifi router can effect some people, that their hormones such as enpdophine and melatonin is not produced in the amount that is needed. From my point of view ist very easy to start swicth off your wifi router at night for a piriod of one-two month, and lets see if you fell any change. My mom did, and she could really fell the difference. Try it, its free, you have nothing to lose :-)

Thanks very much for the advice @mackjez-santos , anything is worth a try at least once. Cheers

Congratulations @tommycee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54