Steemers: Are You a Biohacker?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

biohacking-1200.jpg
Image from http://bionic.ly/list-of-biohackers/, hope they don't mind. Great article by the way.

One of my interests is biohacking. The past few years I have been following biohackers such as Tim Ferriss and Dave Asprey, as well as doctors on the leading edge of healthy eating and the underlying sciences behind health, super-learning and mental well-being.

I am putting together a "cheat sheet" (among other things) that describes the current thinking along these lines (for example: grass-fed beef; mitochondiral function efficiency; benefits of fasting, etc) and was wondering if any of you fantastic Steemers have similar interests along these lines?

Have you shared "pearls of wisdom" with others that aren't in "the loop" that have been effective for them to get off of factory meats or processed foods? Maybe you've helped someone overcome diabetes? Maybe just recommended Bulletproof coffee to soeone and then that led them down the path of health and mental awareness?

I'm not talking about homeopathy or other junk science, but real, leading edge things that lead to a happier, longer and more satisfying life.

These topics include nutrition, nootropics, and for some research, even cybenetics and the singularity.

Feel free to throw other ideas out there- this is for discussion.

Sort:  

Tom, my example is probably at the very simple end of the spectrum, but through blogging and book writing, I've helped thousands of people enjoy the outdoors which can have incredible benefits for mental and physical health. Personally, I get plenty of sleep, exercise at least an hour a day (if you count walking), eat mostly vegetarian + fish, go hiking, camping, and trail running as often as I can, drink lots of tea, etc.
I enjoy reading about the singularity, cybernetics, and futurism in general.

Great! I'm a big sleeper! sounds like you are doing the right things.

It is indeed a very interesting subject. I'll find out about it tonight. Thank you for this discovery. I will follow your blog :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66