DSRL Camera Upgrade - What to get!?!

in #life7 years ago

So I'm looking to replace my good ol' Canon 30D that had served me well for the past 10 years or so. I can't fault this camera except for the low resolution that in this day and age looks pretty crappy when compared to whats on the market now, the outdated processor and the lack of other features.

In the 10 years that I had it, it never failed me, nothing had to be replaced or fixed which just tells me what a great camera this is made out of quality materials.

Gorilla_Scratching_Head_(18047130741).jpg

And now that I'm on the market looking for something new and shiny, I'm looking towards Canon again... but which one? I've spend hours on YT looking at Canon reviews anything from 80D to 5D but I still can't make up my mind!

I'm looking for a enthusiast to professional entry DSLR - preferably Canon ;)
The budget of around $2000AUD for body only.
Used for nature / sport photography and a general all rounder.

If you got a nice new DSLR camera or you're in the business, let me know in the comments

  • Why you got it.
  • Are you happy with it - Why?
  • Pro / Cons.
  • What lens would you recommend for it?

Most convincing comment will get some sbd's :)

Sort:  

I've got some Canon gear, but the camera I use the most is the Olympus OMD EM5 (I've got the original mark 1). Very compact body, excellent Liveview, small lens, lot less bulk than a Canon Body. They have stunning quality lenses, images are excellent, worth having a play with one if you get the chance.

That Olympus looks rather nice, it's a shame that it lacks in megapixel department but it's very compact!
I'll have to see it first hand and play with it.
Thanks for feedback!

Nice post,but i wish i knew more about cameras,lol.

I already resteemed your post anyways so that people who knows better can give some advice on which one to get...

You said Canon so I'm out!

Not a fan of Canon?

Loved my Canon 80D for video, but I found it was lacking in the image department. My Nikon D5100 was better with stills. Just my personal experience.

True that, I was looking at the 80D while writing this post, and now that you said that it just reaffirms my belief to get something else!

I would look at either the 6D or 7D. Depends on if you want a full-frame sensor or not. The body-only prices are usually under $2000 USD, probably around $1500 or so, depending on the model. You’d probably want the Mark II versions that are out now.

If you ever take any videos, the 7D has much better recording and subject-tracking...at least that was the case with the Mark I specs. It’s more versatile than the 6D, but it’s not a full-frame sensor, which mostly just has a greater impact in low-light settings. But if you’re mostly shooting nature and daytime landscapes, either one is good and the 7D should give you more versatility for shooting and filming.

Thanks for the input @ats-david. At first I was actually considering the 80D as the specs seems pretty good on paper compared to 7D and I could get the 24-70 2.8 II for a decent price.

But yesterday I went to few camera shops to get a hands-on experience and I must admit the 6D mkII feels great and I think it's time to upgrade to a full frame goodness anyway.

The only negative thing I can see about this camera is that it's shutter speed + buffer comparing to other brands, but not to say it's a problem that will put me off!

The 5D mk iv is a dream but it's just too much for a hobby!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76