Saying Farewell To Elm Street- Our Last Day in Our Current Home

in #life7 years ago

home.jpg

Tomorrow we will be getting ready for bed in our new house, and I am so excited for this new place in life that we have both worked so hard to create. On the other hand, I feel a since a loss for the home we have built in the past 7 years. It may not be much, but it was ours, and there are a lot of memories. I moved to this home when I was 12, just after I broke my right elbow the second time during the last week of 6th grade. My grandparents live just up the road, and another extended family grew from the neighbors I have had over the past 17 years. Many of them are surrogate aunts and uncles, and my cousins are too many to count. Even when I moved away during my college years, I knew I had a home on Elm street.

1.jpg

Our goofy Snowman from years ago, greeting neighbors and passerbys.

Currently there are still things about this neighborhood that can drive me batty. Our neighbor’s dogs are always barking, people fly down the street in vehicles like it’s a raceway, and walking the streets at night can raise your levels of anxiety to new heights due to the lack of streetlights and sidewalks. That being said, I see the potential for things to get better, and they are even now. Sidewalks are getting installed so walking around is less scary, neighbors are helping each other by letting them borrow a mower, inviting each other over for conversation and a meal, and in general a community is being built.

3.jpg

Scone making lessons in the process.

I am only moving 3 miles away, and I am happy that I am staying near the place I grew up. Not only so I can visit with my neighbor-family easily, but because I am not quite ready to give up that part of me just yet. I am still going to be a Westsider, albeit an ultra-Westsider, and I have no shame in telling others where I grew up anymore. It’s the place where the trees turn the most beautiful browns and reds in the autumn and the brightest array of colors in the spring. It’s the place where you can find other’s helping each other without expectation of anything in return. It’s the place where you can observe someone playing a guitar into cement rainwater drainage system (presumably because the acoustics are better and it actually happened yesterday). It’s the place where I learned to not sweat the small stuff and to always be grateful for what you have. I will miss it, though I am sure this new home is a much better fit for what we need and want in a home now.

So goodbye Elm street, and stay awesome.

@tltran

Sort:  

Cool tire swing. Take it with you!

We plan on it. It actually fell a couple of months ago. Weather and extended use by multiple nieces and nephews tore the rope up. I need to find an all-weather material that will do better next time I set it up.

Great words @tltran ! I feel you, I am a nomad myself and know very well the feeling of leaving a place you love. Mixed emotions and lots of memories.
But as you said, if the new home is more suitable for you and your family, and you are moving to a nearby place, no need to worry. Anytime you want to have a nice conversation with a neighbor, you can drive there and cook some scones for the lads.
I like the way you express your feelings, I reckon we think alike.

Best of luck with all this changes!! xo

Thank you! And yes, I am looking forward to having all the friends over to the new place and coming back to their homes to cook, enjoy a firepit night, or play some board games. We will take our traditions with us and keep them alive now matter where we call home.

Here's to holding old memories close to your heart, and making many new memories in your new home.

Thank you! I can't believe we move tomorrow. @quantumanomaly and I have been counting the minutes until we move and now it feels like we are no where near prepared lol. Just gotta take it one step at a time, though.

Yep. Moving is overwhelming. No matter how ahead of things you are, you soon realize that you are actually behind. Moving is very emotional. You'll get it!

Good luck in the new place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00