What the Heck is a Fidget Spinner?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

old lady fidget spinner.png

Maybe I'm just getting old. I don’t get it.

Fidget Spinners.

fidget spinner.jpg
If you haven’t heard about these little gems you probably don’t have kids or don't suffer from clinically diagnosed anxiety. Fidget spinners are the latest toy/collectible fad sweeping the nation.

I’m sitting here trying to figure out what to make of the silly spinning devices and kicking myself for not inventing it myself.

Sheesh, they’re making a killing off of these things.

Fidget Spinners are simple spinning devices made up of two or three weighted prongs that branch out from a central circular bearing. If you pinch the central bearing, you can spin the prongs.

That’s it. That’s all. Nothing. More.

Man, in the Olden Days, we didn’t spend a dime on annoyances—we were in the business of creating them ourselves.

fidget spinner cropped.png

BUT the kids are going crazy over these toys! Some argue it helps kids focus and suppresses anxious symptoms. I don’t know. Our school has banned them by some teachers, so apparently having a nervous kid in your class far outweighs twenty two whirling distractions. As a parent, they may be annoying, but they are also affordable. Fidget Spinners go for as little as 5 bucks. That’s something to twirl over.

Sort:  

My little niece visited last week and had that toy with her. It's a cool piece of technology.

I know @drakos! When I first wrote the post I hadn't actually held one. Now I have and it is actually really fun. Haha

My 10 year old niece explained it to me but I didn't understand it until I saw a video. To me it's like the modern day yo-yo. I remember the day when doing trick yo-yo moves was a big deal. For a while kids were into hacky sacks and kicking them around during lunch in high school. I think I'll pass on the fidget spinner. It's a fad and will pass probably.

They are certainly a fad. Wonder if it will die down over the summer or continue until the fall?

They are very much a fad, but I can say they help with fidgeting! I myself always feel the need to be moving or keeping busy because I get bored easy. This simple spinner gives me something to do with my hands and actually kind of works. It is definitely come to be used as a "toy" by many smaller children and we all know that children feel left out if they don't have what all the other kids have. Bottom line it will die down, but will forever be helpful to fidgeters.

Thanks for commenting @jawsh and thanks for the insight! I can kind of relate because I find myself doodling when I need to concentrate on a speaker or in a meeting so i guess its the same idea, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53