You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Personal - Dear Steemian, Your Thoughts on Changing Your Name Please

in #life7 years ago

Interesting... Personally, changing one's name seems like a big hassle to me, and I'm content with my own name, so I've never really given it any thought. That being said, everyone has their own thoughts and opinions and, as long as they don't hurt anyone else, should feel free to exercise their given rights should they choose to do so.

If you aren't happy with your name, want to change it, and are willing to put up with the hassle, then I say go for it! Getting people's input is important, but only as far as it is constructive. If they just think it's weird or different because it isn't "normal", then their point is somewhat invalid in my opinion. If they want to make a constructive comment or give actual advice, i.e. "Keep in mind that you may have to put up with some smiles and laughs because of your new name," then debate over it and determine if it is worth it to you. Some of those smiles and laughs might be because they like your name or because it has become a small bright spot in their day, you never know.

I'm ok with names that are a bit different. In fact, I often enjoy hearing them and find them interesting. My wife and I are planning on naming our daughter (19 weeks to go!) after a character from a cartoon. When people hear the name, they always ask where we got it from, at which point we awkwardly laugh and tell them it's from an anime called Full Metal Alchemist. My point is that we like the name and don't really care what others may say (granted our daughter may potentially resent us for that in the future, but I think Winry is pretty nice name overall, so I'll risk it). Be willing to hear people's opinions and advice, but remember that YOU are the one that has to make the decision and live with it.

At the end of the day, If you decide a name is something you enjoy, that it makes you feel good about yourself, and you decide you can deal with all of the potential downsides to changing your name, then do it!

Sort:  

Yes, my 6-year-old daughter doesn't appreciate being named after a rabbit in Watership Down, even though it is a really pretty name, that was popular about 60 years ago, She doesn't like being the only one with it at school.

I'm sure that one day she will appreciate it :) At that age the problem is probably just that it is different or unique. Most people come to appreciate being a bit unique in time. I certainly hope my daughter will, haha.

upvoted and now following you too. ;)

upvoted and now following you too. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59022.17
ETH 2569.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53