Tiny Home Living - Take a look inside before I move my things in.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Moving things into the tiny home today and I wanted to share photos before furniture takes over. I am excited for this adventure - freedom awaits! I want to share photos before everything is moved in.

enter image description here

This home was on Craigslist and I found it within 37 minutes of it being posted. I called the owner immediately and drove down the next morning to seal the deal. In the time that I secured it with my deposit 8 people had inquired about the home, so I got lucky and it was meant to be.

The owner converted this from a 50 year old trailer into the wonder you see today. He lived in it for 2 years while making the conversion. I am working with him to gather all of the construction details and I have numerous photos of the before and after which are stunning.

enter image description here
This will be the living room and to the right is a pre-constructed entertainment center. It comes out 16 inches from the wall so you can see that the total width of the entire home is 9 feet!

enter image description here
Looking back toward front door in the living room.

Kitchen from living room view, it will be about 4 feet x 6 feet!

enter image description here

This one is from living room looking into the sunporch.

enter image description here

I am especially excited to finally have a sun porch which is 90 square feet. Living in the city for so long on the fourth floor I forget what it feels like to live on the ground level . . . did I say sunporch?

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

Micro homes are on the rise. Portland, Oregon is a great example - the city is adjusting zoning laws, banks are providing mortgages geared towards micro homes, and one company alone worked on 500 in the last year. Demand is growing and the west coast is a glowing example of how this movement is proceeding.

Micro apartments are also exploding in places like San Francisco, Seattle and New York. Some of these units are 150 - 300 square feet! People can still enjoy living in these wonderful cities while paying much less than a full one bedroom. Current going rate for a 1 bedroom in SF is 3000k! These micro apartments are especially popular with tech workers in Seattle and SF.

I am downsizing a lot of things and it feels great. My favorite saying on this subject, “Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without.” I am going to post my experience and various tips on how to make micro living work. I hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

It is gorgeous!! I really love it. I am hoping to live in a 600 sq. foot home sometime (I have a family of four). We are in a small apt. currently. This is a beautiful home and I thank you for posting it. What a cool thing to find on Craigslist!

Oh I am so jealous. What a lovely home. We plan on doing the same to our 42 year old single wide trailer. The outside area is gorgeous as well. Thank you for sharing the pictures.

Ooooh I love it, especially that lusciously bright sun porch! You must do a post about your new place, once you are all settled in.

The house looks cozy! I'm eager to see how you like tiny house living.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90