Farmers Markets are Decentralized Grocery stores that could accept Cryptocurrency

in #life8 years ago (edited)

enter image description here

I went to my local farmers market today and it was packed as usual. Many people of all walks of life wading through the crowds to support local farmers and meet the people growing the food they put in their bodies. Sometimes it is shoulder to shoulder and you can barely stop to see if your favorite kiwi bars are there. The enthusiasm is definitely there and in 4 hours thousands of people will walk through and there is still enough produce left to feed a village! Crypto fits right in with farmers markets due to the ability to process micro-transactions without high fees. All pics taken by me today at the market :)

Insert pic of me

Wherever I live I support the farmers market. I have tried the experiment of living solely off of the farmers market because it is twice a week, Wednesday evenings and Saturdays. It takes a bit of creativity but it is totally possible. I can get just about everything there except for reverse osmosis water.

Here is my haul today:
-2 organic Candy Sweet Onions
-1 large bunch organic beets
-1 bunch of carrots
-2 bags of vegan tomales (4 each) which I can eat off of for weeks.
-2 Jian Dui
-1 coconut bread

I paid only 19.00 for all of that and at my favorite local grocery store it would have been over 30.00 Farmers and vendors can charge a reasonable price because they do not have to deal with distributers and anyone else taking a cut.

enter image description here

Farmers Markets are a great example of the move towards decentralization. The farmers, jewelry makers, bread makers, and florists get paid directly and customers get what they want at a good price. Each year farmers market attendance rates are growing indicating that people are moving away from big box grocers.

I personally am not interested in tomatoes from Mexico when I live in the midwest, I want to get tomatoes from a farmer that farms right outside of town.

enter image description here

Enter in crypto and bitcoin. How simple and easy for these vendors to accept crypto through an app and how easy for the customer to just zap it to them. Crypto gives the vendors the opportunity to work with micro-transactions other than cash. Visa/Mastercard charge high fees making mircro-transactions difficult for smaller vendors. We need a farmers market crypto.

Last but not least is a picture highlighting this amazing dessert called Jian Dui. There is usually a line at the farmers markets for these. They are fried and filled with a sweet bean paste - these are orange flavored and only mildly sweet. If you have not tried one you must, you can find them at most Dim Sum restaurants.

Please support your local farmers market : )

enter image description here

Sort:  

If I was manning a farmers market storefront, I'd accept bitcoin.

Fortunate to be surrounded by farmers and local produce stands here in Alabama. Fresh produce, fair pricing! Love it

Glad to hear you have many options! Thanks for checking it out.

It would be great to have such options for payments at local events such as farmer's markets. As you mentioned, credit card fees can be signifcant on small volume transactions for a merchant. As a consumer it would be nice to have other non-cash options. Good idea!

Wow what a wonderful idea...lets do it! Also your pics are making me anxious for my local farmers market tomorrow morning :-)

Thank you for checking it out! I am very much enjoying your posts :)

I like it! Very interesting! Good Luck To You!

Wow! lot of interesting thoughts

This post sure makes me want to go by the farmers market in the morning! :)

This post is about three things I Love. I love crypto, I love farmers markets, and I noticed your name is tinyhomeliving. Tiny homes being another love. Outstanding!!!

lovely like it

Great idea!!! one better, I will start using "Cryptos" at my produce stand! http://imgur.com/a/HypKu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14