Thank you

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0800.JPG

I love, love 'ra-ra, feel good' moments - they're so far and few in between. And everyone sends such positive messages of hope and faith and kindness.
I am grateful!
Thank you everyone!

Yesterday was such an amazing day, filled with these kinds of moments, strung together.
It started the moment I got to Federal Court and walked into the courtroom.
It was packed with familiar and unfamiliar faces.
My 'goosebump' moments were watching the best legal minds, the best human rights lawyers representing the most vulnerable of children. I was so proud to be in the room, to watch history happen.
The most passionate of people were sitting around me. I'm not the only one who cares about stateless children. We are not alone. There are others. We all care. Thank you, thank you lawyers and activist and advocates.

In the meantime, in Chow Kit, the staff and children were helping bring boxes and boxes of books downstairs to be shipped to Sabah for children in the schools over there. The logistics company didn't have enough staff or time to help load the books from upstairs.
I owe you all Pizza.
Thank you for helping me out.
Sabah, your books are finally on the way!

I didn't want to pay the RM75 Grab car drive back to KL, so I hitched a ride from someone I knew. She dropped me off at KL, Central, on her way to work. I would take a taxi to work from there. Kindness so I wouldn't have to fork out more money. Thank you!

Most of you knew that I left my laptop, iPad, notes, and files from work in the cab.
I thought my life was over.

The kindness from strangers, friends and colleagues showed me, was unbelievable!

It started with the girl who signed up new donors for Kita Society in the lobby.
She saw me screaming and running after the cab.
I was so shaken I couldn't speak.

She touched my shoulder in compassion, while I shakily called up the taxi stands. Told me it would be ok. A stranger. A young lady with so much compassion.
Maybe I'll see her today and thank her and sign up to be a Kita Society donor.

My colleagues at work- love you guys. "Go home," they said. "We can imagine how you feel"

One of them walked me downstairs, gave her card and told the reception desk to call her if the taxi driver came back.The hugged me. Don't worry about work." I don't have enough money," she said but I'll lend you some to buy a new laptop" she offered. I almost cried.

The computer angel who knew my life was in that computer and iPad- said, don't worry, I'll loan you a laptop first and if you want to buy it later, we'll discuss.
Thank you!

The Private Messages offering me money to buy a new laptop- don't worry, you can pay me back in 12 months or 24 months. From a complete stranger, mind you. Thank you!

The friend, who offered to buy me a new computer. Pay back later. Or you can marry me, to make me smile. Yes, I know you were joking but how sweet are you? Thank you!

My friend who offered to give me her laptop if someone could help her transfer the data to her other computer. Someone offered to do so this weekend. Than k you!

Or my sister, who taught me how to use, find my iPad so I finally got my stuff back. Thank you!

To last night.

I went back to a space above a Chinese restaurant in Chow Kit, to talk to caring strangers, friends and young people, with comrades in arm, who work on the issue of poverty and how we treat poor people in Malaysia.
The room was packed.
The kindness and caring and goodness in that room was so warm and fuzzy, I calmed down after being so angry with my son earlier.
I take it back. Things are getting better. More people care, more people are working together to make things better. Despite the odds, despite the policies.
I don't know why I thought things hadn't changed.
I just had to look around the room to know things were better.

So thank you, Buku Jalanan and my fellow panellists for reminding me, of what's important and how the littlest gesture of kindness and goodness, have the biggest impact. How we we must care and help and stay kind and compassionate? And less I forget when I get into a 'woe is me' moment, you have permission to kick me in the butt and remind me. How I need to get back to the things I know best. Thank you

Happy Wednesday, people!

Love

DD902453-F691-47DB-885C-F575905A26D3.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67015.44
ETH 3247.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64