Thankful For The Little Things

in #life7 years ago

Because of moving so many times in life, furniture is not something that has had any sentimental attachment to me. Most of the time, it was something that got left behind. In spite of that, there has always been one specific piece of furniture I would have liked to have in life, regardless of how temporary that may be. And that was a solid oak rolltop desk.

While living with an uncle during my stay in Pennsylvania during my father’s illness, he let me use a small rolltop desk that he had available. It was much appreciated at the time. But after stopping in a furniture store in Churchtown where they had a hand made solid oak model, the size difference was apparent, and so was the price.

In the past few weeks, the owner of the house we presently live in told us about the new house she had purchased, and that we would have access to the entire house we presently occupy after her things are moved out. Because this included the computer desk, I needed to find a replacement.

Before I could start looking, my girlfriend approached me the next day with her phone displaying an ad for a large solid oak computer desk that was available in the neighboring town of Cottonwood...for free! Needless to say, she contacted them, and told them we would pick it up that Sunday morning. Granted, it is machine made rather than hand made, but it is still a wonderful object to come my way. Fortunately, it is in two pieces, otherwise, we would have not been able to get it in the house without the help of several neighbors.

Another thing I’m thankful for is Young Living Essential Oils. Before typing out my weekly post here on Steemit, I anoint myself with the three blends displayed here. There is much that could be said about the content, and quality of these oils, but that information can be shared with those who contact me about them.

And speaking of Steemit, the last thing I want to share about being thankful for is that my 100th follower came on last night. Considering the limited time I have available to participate on the platform, this is significant. I look forward to getting to know more of you as Providence arranges it.

Happy Sabbath to each of you.
Sort:  

That desk looks nice and it seems pretty functional too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54