You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Copyright? Why copyright is Nonsensical from my Point of View

in #life7 years ago

Ideas belong to no one. I completely agree with that, and this is why IDEAS are not subject to copyright.

As an author, artist, aspiring videographer, and public-speaker, I reserve the copyright on the things that I create from my ideas.

Why?

Because while I share the idea with countless other minds, I invested my time and resources into creating a tangible copiable instance of that idea that is unique to me.

Is it selfish?

Sometimes yes. Sometimes no. It's selfish when I bogart the right to copy my work and demand exorbitant prices and royalties for its use. It's not selfish when I think I should be paid fairly for the fair work I do.

Why shouldn't you get paid for my work?

Let's change the topic from copyright to another type of labor. If you go out and dig a ditch, and I go to the person who hired you to dig the ditch and say, "That's a fine ditch I made for you" and collect your pay, how would you respond?

I'm guessing it would go along the lines of "Fuck you! That's my money! I dug that ditch."

So why do you feel it's different if I sell copies of something else you worked to make and claim credit for the work?

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44