The day the snow came

in #life7 years ago

Over the last couple of days, the UK has seen a fair share of snow. Especially in the region I live in, we haven’t seen snow like this in over 5 years.

Now the snow brings beauty and chaos all at the same time. And my daughter Willow got to experience it for the first time ever!

Needless to say, she was less than impressed!

Now I made sure she was dressed in more layers than a cookbook pastry recipe, so it couldn’t have been the cold.

She had an adorable pink puddle suit, matching bobble hat and sparkly boots to brag about, so it wasn’t the fashion that was the problem. Maybe mine, but certainly not hers.

It was -5 degrees outside, with a ‘feels like’ rating of -12, whatever than means, that might have been it..

But what I think ruined what we all expected to be a magical experience of our daughter playing in the snow was something much more terrifying for a 14 month old.

The second she stood up in the fresh, untouched snow, a sudden rogue gust of winter breeze conjured up what can only be described as a snow-nado around my daughter, creating a terrifying mix of powdery, frozen winter tundra into her face.

That pretty much did the job.

From that moment onwards, my daughter hated snow. So maybe we’ll try again another day. At least I captured the photo I was aiming for, only without the beautiful smile I expected I got a frown and a frozen tear.

My daughter now hates Snow, Santa, Sleep and probably everything else that starts with an S. But as long as she still loves me, I can deal with that for now.

4BD4DA0D-166A-4F49-BFE9-A80A3296C7D1.jpeg

Sort:  

Great photo, I can really see the terror on her face!

Thank you! She was not very impressed at all! What’s funny is that she was so fascinated by the snow, watching it out of the window, the second we took her out in it, not so much!

What a cutie pie! Stay warm!

She’s my little cutie for sure! Thanks for stopping by!

That is a classic shot! How much snow did you get?

Haha thanks! I love how real of a reaction it is! Well currently we’re sitting on about 6-7 inches here in my area, but some places got more

That's cute. But can she do it on a cold rainy night at Stoke?

I think she might just be able to pull it off!

How about S like Sweets? :P

She’s sometimes hit and miss with various sweets! I think we may have the only child in the world who finds vegetables more delicious than candy!

First snow in a lifetime is a special moment. :) I hope she remembers it.

We’re going to try again, hoping for a happier version of that memory!

No no, you shouldn't. I vouch for her memory to be special if she manages to recollect it when she is all grown up. It's magic and it s never going to be the same again. What you think must be bad experience for her, with all the crying and hating snow will eventually turn out into a fantastic experience. But maybe a bit over 1 yo is a bit too little to hope for that memory to last. But who knows! :)

I guess only time will tell! Personally I think she’ll be a lover of spring and summer instead of Winter, but we enjoyed sharing this experience with her, it must be such an overwhelming thing to see snow so young and have no concept of what it is!

This is just beautiful :)

Thank you! I’m actually glad I had the camera with me, it’s a moment I’m happy to have shared, even if it may have been slightly terrifying for Willow!

Willow doesn't look happy at all LOL

Yeah same here... even London have been all white for this last couple of days... crazy!

what a sweetie, bless her!. Love the photo though, and a memory you can look back when she is older. She will be able to laugh about it then.

beautiful photo ! i just found your blog, love it - followed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42