Natural beauty in Santa Cruz California

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I am so blessed to live near the ocean with beautiful beaches and the redwood forests. I can walk to both. I live in Aptos a small community in Santa Cruz. I try and walk everyday and enjoy the wonderful places nearby. It is easy to take all this natural beauty for granted when you live so close to it. I'm trying not to do that. I hope to share some of my favorite places in and around the Santa Cruz area very soon. But here are a few near my home.
I love seeing posts by fellow steemians of where they the live and enjoy going.

From atop of the cliff at SeaCliff Beach State Park
seacliffB.jpg

This picture is from the pier at Seacliff Beach. Last summer we had some great sunsets. I love this one in particular.

Seacliff is a great beach with an odd attraction, the cement ship. The SS Palo Alto was one of seven cement ships built by the military near the end of WWI. It has seen better days. This last winter caused the stern of the the ship to tip over and rip apart.

This awesome picture is courtesy of the Santa Cruz Sentinel. ss.jpg

This picture shows the beach which stretches for miles going south. This view, north goes about one mile. Lots of good walking and beach glass to be had.

sun 2.jpg

Everywhere along the beaches you see little forts people have built from driftwood.

hut.jpg

Then there is Nisene Marks State Park. It is a beautiful wooded area with miles and miles of hiking trails.

redwoods2.jpg

redwoods.jpg

Caught some mushrooms with the sunlight hitting them through the thick trees.

mushrroms.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the pictures and a small glimpse into where I live. And of course if your taking a walk it is always good to bring your best friend! Ted and I have been friends since kindergarden. Check his blog out at @cryptoted
ted and i.jpg

Follow me I Follow back just leave a comment. #minnowsupportproject

Sort:  

Beautiful!
Check out my newest post, its all of pictures from Central CA!!
Followed.

My buddy Sam is from Aptos - and I've had the pleasure of spending some time there! Such a great place in the world!

Nice! I grew up here. I just love it. I have traveled to every state but Alaska and this is still one of my favorite places. This and Hawaii.

Wow, what an amazing sunset! Great photos, but that one is breathtaking!

Santa Cruz is so damn amazing!

yes I so love it here!

Hi fellow Santa Cruz person! Your the 3rd person Ive found from our area here on steemit. Love Aptos..lived up Trout Gulch for many years. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37