You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Programming Language Doesn't Matter - Lessons From My First Year as a Software Developer

in #life7 years ago

Great post! I have just graduated from middle school of computer sciences and the true dillema throught my schooling was "How do actual software developers program? Do they use google? Do they know every single command?".

Sort:  

Glad I could help :) Memorization will help to improve your speed if you plan on sticking to a specific language. But, in my job, about every couple months I will be tasked with learning something new in languages I have never heard of. The key as a software dev is to be able to sit down on google for a few hours, learn the basics, then figure out how to implement whatever it is the customer wants

Some IDE give a huge leg up with intelisense and the like. Currently I work in Visual Studio in C# with a developer tool called ReSharper. I have a good in-depth knowledge of the language so I do not touch google much, sometimes but not often. The tools I use help you in the right direction as you typeas long as you know roughly what you want.

That said I have written code for 30+ years. The more you do the more you know.

Kavemantech is right, learn to adapt and accept new knowledge. When you find new techniques stash them in your knowledge tool box. The more tools you have the better your chances of having the right one for the job :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85