WHAT IS AN H.O.A. ??

in #life7 years ago

H.O.A.


Extortion.jpg

WHATS THE POINT!


To start with, this my opinion on the matter at hand. I want to explain what I believe an H.O.A. is, and why we the citizens of the United States have allowed this thing called the H.O.A. to get way out of hand. I also want to get feed back, on how I can go about making this H.O.A. no longer operational. I want to dissolve this corrupt H.O.A. and any H.O.A. like it, through out the United States. I know that some might say just don't live were a corrupt H.O.A. is, but that is no longer the point. My mission or one of my missions in life is to expose what H.O.A's are, and make a case why we should dissolve any and all corrupt, dis-functional H.O.A.'s in the United States! If you are noticing all the H.O.A's in a row in this paragraph that is on purpose, I want to get people to understand that the H.O.A. is not a good thing, and having them around is detrimental to our well being! I also know that it will take time for this movement to take hold, but I believe that it will happen!

BEFORE THE NIGHTMARE!

About seven years ago I bought a condo in phoenix AZ, and at the time I really did not know what I was getting myself into. I bought the condo for the low price of $59,000 U.S. This was a steal in my mind. I got the loan approved, and started making my mortgage payments. Now I also knew this place had an H.O.A , and at the time I really did not understand what that really meant!

Question.jpg

REALIZING THE NIGHTMARE

I had only rented in the past, and was ignorant about what an H.O.A. really is. I was not able to buy this house without agreeing to make payments to the H.O.A. So being young and dumb, I agreed to pay my H.O.A. "dues" when I bought my condo. The amount of money I would have to pay, just in H.O.A. "dues" was $108. I really did not like this, but I wanted the condo, and could not have predicted what would end up happening. After about 4 years of paying my "dues" to this H.O.A, I stopped. I got sick and tired of this H.O.A, extorting money from me. They had raised the price of my dues, by eighty dollars in four years! They also would have what is called,"Special Assessments." That would raise the amount I needed to pay by $50 or a $100. So now, four years after buying the condo, my "dues" were $188 every month, and an extra $50 to $100 in "Special Assessment," added about every three to four months. The "Special Assessment," would be in effect for six to eight months at a time. So the total amount I would have to pay after four years, was $188 + $50/$100. That is $238 to $288 for six or eight months, then drop back down to the not so low price of $188. Then three or four months later they would have another "Special Assessment."

BBHMM.gif

THE ONGOING NIGHTMARE!

I payed my H.O.A. "dues" every month on time for four years. The last time I ever payed my "dues", I was having some money problems, and I payed the EXTORTION money to the H.O.A. The next week I went hungry, I was scraping by to even eat one meal a day! From then on I vowed never to pay another dime to these Extortionist! This went on for three years and I was happy. See the H.O.A. (Extortionist's) are by all accounts, a business. They have employees that they pay, and they provide a service. The employees are payed by the money they extort from the residents, and the services they provide are payed by the money they extort from the residents. They use what I have deemed, legalized criminality get away with this practice. So lets take the company I work for as an example. I have a boss, the H.O.A. has a boss, i.e. ( the board). My shop has employees, the H.O.A. has employees, i.e. (the board and people they pay to do a job). Now for the difference, my shop has clients that choose to use us or not, THE H.O.A. HAS CLIENTS, THAT CANNOT CHOOSE TO USE THEM OR NOT! An H.O.A. is the only business in the United States, that has to be used by the residents of a given community. If you don't use them from the beginning you can not buy the property (discrimination). If after buying the property you don't want to use them, they have the power to, TAKE YOUR HOME! I am being forced to use a business, and the services they provide or they garnish my wages, and eventually take my condo. How the fuck does this make any sense? That is right, you heard what I said, they can take my condo. They are in the process of putting it up for a sheriff sell. They have already garnished my wages, and now they are going to steal my house, my home. The place were my family lives. This is why I call what they do EXTORTION! I am being force to pay money, to them, the H.O.A. or they take my SHIT! If that is not the definition of Extortion I don't know what is! Sorry for the language but I get really upset when talking about this. I have to pay 10,000 some odd dollars or they will put my house up for sale, keep in mind I am paying the mortgage, the electric bill, and water. Even paying what is in my mind, the needed things to keep a house in the city going, I still have to pay this extortion money. In the past, the only thing I got, for my over priced dues, is trash. $188 some times $288 for trash. THAT IS THEFT! So by now you should see why I want this H.O.A. to go away! I would gladly pay for my own trash pickup and I know it would be way cheaper. I am sure that I'm not the only one that has dealt with this corruption. There are surely thousands of people across the U.S. that have been, and are currently having there hard earned money EXTORTED!

Gangster.jpg

ENDING THE NIGHTMARE!

Now with that all said, I have been trying to figure out,

A. How not to loose my house. (Most likely pay the extortion money!)
B. learn how to eventually dissolve this and other corrupt H.O.A.'s. (For mine and others benefit.)

I'm sure this path is going to be a hard one, but it will be worth it in the end. Too many people have suffered at the hands of H.O.A.'s. They are a disaster of a concept, that was put in place only to be used to raise property value. This monster, that use legalized criminality, was created by greed, and has to be taken down. I have not even got into all the other crap that an H.O.A. does to people. They are sick and twisted, to be on the board of and H.O.A., and i'm sorry if this offends but it is true, you have to have something mentally wrong with you. People running an H.O.A. make money by telling other people what to do with there own property, and steal there homes if they refuse to comply! An H.O.A. is like having a forth level of government, you have federal, state, city, then a fucking H.O.A! We don't need this last level of governance. We as people should be able to figure out a better way to work on our communities to make them a better place to live, without resorting to creating a residential gang to enforce shit! As a matter of fact that is what some gangs do, they go to businesses and housing projects and say pay me X amount of money "for your protection". If you don't pay up they take your things, or the money in your wallet. This is no different the an H.O.A!!! Except that society has made their activities legal, but in all truth what they do is criminal in nature. Like I stated in the beginning we allowed, or our parents allowed this to happen. By not raining in what they could get away with doing from the begging, they have become a corrupt system and abuse there given power! I will eventually figure out how to shut them down, but for now at least, I hope you will tell the world what an H.O.A. really is! Thank you for reading this very important post, for me anyways, and STEEM ON!

Steem on 25% size.jpg

With love: @TIANDAO
Sort:  

HOA's are all about money. Make it expensive for them when they mess with you. Then they will have to decide if you're worth the money out of their coffers.

Exactly right and they will pay for there criminal behavior. That's just the way it has to be. I will eventually shut all the corrupt ones down. Thank you for reading my rant/ post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49