You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Part 6 – La Gonâve, Haiti - A Vision of Regeneration for a Degraded Land and Impoverished People

in #life8 years ago

I've enjoyed your series. I spent the summer of 1980 in Cap-Haitien, Haiti doing volunteer construction at an orphanage, and I've often wondered over the years how things are going in Haiti for the people I met there.

Sort:  

Thanks. I'm not a Haiti veteran, so to speak. It "seems" like most of the work until recently has helped to relieve pain, but hasn't provided a long-term solution. But it also appears that many are offering more permanent fixes. Of course, the orphanages will always be needed, to one degree or another. But so many of them have kids that are there because the parent/s simply can't feed them. A long-term solution would help enable the parent/s to feed their babies.
I can't imagine how much Cap Haitien has changed over the years. It sounds like a ton of great work is going on there, but I've never been.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60