The Great Staycation

in #life6 years ago

For the first time in many years, I actually got to take a week away from work, while not having to forgo a week of income. It's almost as if I'm an adult again.
In a wonderful turn of luck, a massive arctic front, toting several inches of snow, also decided to descend upon the Ozarks, leading to the cancellation of school for the entire week.
IMG_0473.JPG
Our entire family was able to stay home together for a solid week. It's really been a beautiful thing. I was especially blessed by a couple of things- one, being the chance to play music with my lovely wife, @ellicia, and oldest daughter, @okylxx, for this week's open mic.
In case you missed it, it's a very sweet, folky take on the Marshmello/Khalid hit, "Silence". Given the hip hop slant on the original, an acoustic take may be a bit unexpected, but the result was one I rather enjoyed.


They really are darling, aren't they? It brings my soul great joy to make music with them.
Also, had I been at work this week, I likely would have missed a milestone from the youngest princess in our home. She decided walking around on her own seemed like a great idea. It still looks like CGI to me. I can't wrap my head around it. Her largest motivation for bipedal travel is our daughter, Lily. Walking is great, but follow-the-leader is phenomenal.

While I was hoping for a little adventure while away from work, being trapped at home, together, turned out to be pretty amazing.

Thom

Sort:  

It really has been the best week. ❤️

I couldn't agree more, love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13