My first hour in Antarctica on a zodiac

in #life6 years ago

Here I am back down in a place that definitely has a piece of my heart and I am 100% addicted and will be longing to spend time in for the rest of my life. To attempt to explain what this place is like to someone who hasn't experienced it - is practically impossible. Even attempting to take a photograph that truly does what you are seeing justice is not possible, even though that will never stop me from trying time and time again.

Well, I found myself in a zodiac by myself and heading to an area called George's point, where we had some of our guests skiing on a glacier with a couple of our specialized guides. As I arrived at the designated pick up time I could quite clearly see that they were quite a distance away and I had time to sit and wait for them - OR option B, I go explore the area near the pick up spot and see what I could find.

I choose option B to explore the area by myself, which rarely happens because you typically have up to 10 guests in your zodiac when you are cruising around the ice. Then my day got amazing because there was a large female Leopard Seal who just caught and killed a gentoo penguin and was now in the process of tearing her breakfast apart by flinging it back and forth. I was basically in heaven!!

I understand not everyone will find this interaction or the photos amazing like I do, as penguins are adorable and watching them being slowly eaten isn't everyone's cup of tea. It kind of is mine though! At the end of the day it was nothing short of an amazing start to my first day/first hour I had on a zodiac in Antarctica. Fingers crossed that my luck continues over the next few months, as I will continue to frequent the Antarctic Peninsula.


IMG_9612-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

So nice to have you back on Steemit, a really entertaining post.

Thanks! good to be back and be back down south here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65