Day 6 Antarctic Diaries on the M/V Island Sky

in #life6 years ago

The swell is bigger than yesterday that is guaranteed but it is no where near the size as expected. However, either way it does make moving around the vessel a tad more challenging with the constant pitching and rolling of the ship from the swell. My day today was one of talking and presenting, which I do enjoy thoroughly. Especially, the discussions amongst the guests and myself after the presentation, as there always are very interesting points raised followed by rational discussions.

My presentation this morning was on my beloved Humpback whales, which is called ”Humpback Whales - Strengthening our Understanding”. This lecture is primarily focused on how our understanding of these animals has evolved from the 1970’s to now and what aspects of their lives we are still attempting to understand. For example, we once believed that the song that the humpbacks sung was how a female selected her mate. We now know that this isn’t as true as we first though. This is due to the revelation that all males in a breeding population sing the exact same song, which does actually will evolve and change throughout the season and that all the males in the population will synchronize any change in the song instantly… I know, right.. MIND BLOWN!!! So for that song to be the defining reason she choses a mate is not 100% accurate - it does by all means play a significant role in their reproductive ritual however, it is by far more complicated than previously thought. A large portion of the lecture is talking about the social & cultural transfer between individuals & breeding populations within the humpbacks of the Southern Ocean.


20180302_085000.jpg

My opening lecture slide for the morning presentation on humpback whales.


The rest of the day comprised of eating lunch, being on the observation decks admiring the bow of the vessel crashing into the 7m oncoming swell and having great conversations with numerous guests. This evening we are scheduled to arrive in the Beagle channel, which means calm waters - then we should be docking in Ushuaia sometime around midnight/1am. Tomorrow morning, our lovely guests will disembark - myself and the other expedition staff will have a few hours in town to catch up on life stuff (bills, etc.) before jumping back on the ship to prepare to disembark around 7pm tomorrow evening.


IMG_6314.jpg

The bow of the Island Sky crashing through swell in the Drake Passage - the second day of travelling back to the port of Ushuaia.
Keep in mind the vessel is 90.6m|300ft in length and I am about 30m|90ft above the sea’s surface
Click image to view full size.

I honestly, can not wait to head down to the peninsula again for the last time for this season to say goodbye and reflect on my time in this remarkable place. I am also sad, as it is my last expedition down to my ‘happy place’ for the 2017-2018 summer season. Stay tuned for my second and last Antarctic Diaries, which will be starting tomorrow!


Got any questions for me whilst I am working away down in Antarctica??? Feel free to leave some in the comments below and I shall do my best to get to them as soon as I have reliable internet service!!!


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

Wow beautiful ..
Looks like a wonderful trip, thanks for sharing your adventure
Nice, wonderful post

Wow beautiful ..
Looks like a wonderful trip, thanks for sharing your adventure
Nice, wonderful post

It is amazing to see that even tough we are living in 2018 there are so many things still left to learn about Earth and the creatures that populate it.

we are only really scratching the surface of these animals and their cultural lives

Nature is more powerful than any mere human can understand. Let's take care of our planet

I love that it make sense ,

Me parece muy interesante tu diario, es la primera vez que lo leo y creo que tiene mucho potencial, tu viaje, que me trae reminiscencias, de aquel histórico viaje por la conquista de la Antártida emprendida por Amudsen y Scott, hace ya mas de un siglo.
Gracias por compartir tus vivencias con nosotros y felicidades

nice photography and your dairy is very beautifull written

well post, and also nice photography..
thanks for shareing....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69229.38
ETH 3686.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43