Day 5 Antarctic Expedition on the M/V Island Sky PART 1

in #life7 years ago

Day 5 was so huge with so many things happening I have had to break it down into 2 parts. It was day number 2 on the Antarctic Peninsula and it was once again a very, very early morning for myself. My alarm went off at 530am and I was up and standing on the outer observation deck in eager anticipation of what the weather and potential animal sightings were going to be like for this mornings excursion.


20180307_091523.jpg

Me all geared up for excursion adventures at Cuverville Island on the Antarctic Peninsula. I was about to head out on a zodiac to explore for marine mammals

We were once again at Cuverville, which is where we were the previous expedition BUT this time will be my last time at this place until next season, which will be at the end of the year. My goal was simple - find humpbacks and leopard seals and get some amazing photos to share with you all on Steemit.


IMG_6954.jpg

Click image to view full size.


Cuverville did not disappoint!! We had amazing encounters of Humpback whales, leopard seals and I even got a brief interaction with 2 male orca!!! SUCCESS!!!


IMG_7055.jpg

2 male Orca cruising towards the Gerlache Strait.

Stay tuned for what happened next as we cruised to our second location & what happened once we arrived at our final destination on the Antarctic peninsula for this season…


Got any questions for me whilst I am working away down in Antarctica??? Feel free to leave some in the comments below and I shall do my best to get to them as soon as I have reliable internet service!!!


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

Antartida the end of the world such a cool place to visit! i did myself :); Be sure to visit my country Argentina; Cordillera de los Andes; better landscapes than norway/newzealand in fact scenes from Lord of the Rings were filmed in Argentina.

Wow that amazing... i have a question. Is there an evidence of gigantic hole connecting to the underworld as flat eather claims. Sounds ridiculous but i'm interested.

You are very enthusiastic man to get your target pictures. I Love your attempt and your work. I cannot imagine how cold is there?

wow nice photo nice post thank you...

follow you and vote :)

Exploring nature is the best way to interact with it.

I congratulate you for such a good job

what a wonderfull experience and therefore, will post in "my best of the week"! thanks!

How many degrees were you there? I feel cold with only see the photographs 😅

Thisis a great experience, you are a lucky one. Thanks for share.

It was warmer than it can be, as we were there in summer - its typically between 0-5 degrees depending on the weather of the day

Wow! And is possible work there when does 0 to 5 degrees?

You r eyes are blessed such a beatiful view! Even if I don t love the winter so much, seeing these photos make me wonder how great the nature is!

Gosh everytime I look at your photos I dream of getting a gig like yours. How did you up in the world of crusing zodiacs around? Did you dream of getting to Antarctica some day or was this unexpected turn in life?

No, I honestly never dreamt of doing something like this. It kind of was an opportunity that presented itself and I took full advantage of it. I say go for it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64