THE DAMAGING CULTURE OF FREE THINGS 1

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20180513_114541_774.jpg

Long time ago, I was called to speak to a group of people on a topic called Molecular Carcinogenesis. It was to describe to my lay audience how the complex world of cancer works.

I spent days simplifying my facts, pruning them into little bullet easy-to-remember points they'd find most useful. Many times in the middle of the day, my eyes will fall on my slides to yank off one more word,add one more sentence or upload one more picture. I was busy with the idea of giving my best.

I walked into the venue on a sunny harmattan afternoon and I began with a British accent that I'm naturally baptised with in formal places. I was dehydrated after a few minutes and I couldn't escape the embarrassment British Prime Minister, Theresa May recently suffered on stage.

I was coughing--a dry,shallow but persistent variety.

Everyone saw me in distress and no protocol officer said a word or moved a bone! They were just aghast maybe but motionless;even defiant.

Struggling to breathe now, I sunk my hand out of my pocket with money lodged between my fingers and flagged it for help.

"Please, get me a bottled water!" I hollered between an episode.

I managed to conclude and after a rapturous applause for a sound delivery, I walked off the premises unaccompanied, unpaid, embarrassed and UNDERVALUED.

No familiar thank you or warm compliment. I left an emptier version of myself having poured out my knowledge in spite of the health hazard I independently confronted and became a withered leaf bleached of its green. The audience began to have informed discussions about having screening exercises done all because of my talk.

They didn't get me cheap. They got me FREE. I charged no kobo,no cent,no naira and as it turned out, I even didn't charge for my water.

This is the classic instance where philanthropy meets its waterloo. One problem with getting things free is that you become complacent, even neglectful of the giver but have the highest regard for his gift and what he has given.

Free drugs, free education, free comedy, free anything are not indices of an improving society. They are often a picture of a prevailing partial blindness to how valuable things really are.

I am always more valuable than my talks but on this day,as other perilous ones that I'll share in coming posts, my free lecture revealed man's fundamental inability to recognize or prioritize value when it's gotten on a platter of gold.

Sort:  

Wow your so beautiful

Smiles..thanks alot

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

nice post, more inspiration.👍👍

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Thomasgift from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You are amazingly talented and beautiful!!
A kings ransom is not enough for one hour of your time!!
Bear Hugs!! x0x0x

Following your footsteps pappy...muah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62596.14
ETH 3021.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65