Living with ADHD/ADD is a Real Struggle for some of us. I hope this helps somehow.

in #life7 years ago

Good day to this wonderful STEEMIT community!!

I'm not a blogger.. This is my very first attempt. lol

Not sure where to even start but here we go..... Thank you for taking the time!

One thing I know for sure is that the ADHD makes me, gives me, helps me to create who I am.
It keeps me doing random new things. Always searching for something new to see and learn and figure out.
Yes, I would love to be able to remember everything at the right time every time and of course Stay Focused and complete every job I start but that would be to easy "I guess" :)

We have to make the most of it! My theory is that being ADHD/ADD is our way of evolving to be able to handle the multitude of tasks we have on a daily basis. Things are much more complex these days. Maybe it is all the caffeine over the years...
We just have to figure out how to manage our new skill set... Remember it is just a theory, thought, idea.. :)

Living with ADHD/ADD is hard and can be Very Very frustrating at times, especially if you have no idea you have ADHD/ADD or that there is such a thing. There is. Your not crazy.. No matter what they told you..! :)

SOME of the issues one might deal with DAILY..

                 Living With ADHD/ADD means  :
  • That you forget to do simple things or finish them no matter how badly you tried to remember or wanted to get them done ..

  • Starting a text message and either not finishing it or Not Sending it when you are "done"..

  • You thought you took out the trash but the bag is sitting by the door because you "noticed" something and got distracted..

  • Started to put the clothes in the dryer from the washer and the phone rings and the clothes never get done..

  • Someone is talking to you and this cool looking bird flies by and off your mind goes, your no longer listening.... lol Happens all the time

  • Your driving along totally focused on taking the next exit because that is where you live and the phone rings, you pick it up and continue right past your exit for 10 minutes.. lol

  • You toss the baby's bottle in the warmer and try and write a few lines while it is warming, 20 minutes later the baby is no longer patiently waiting..

  • Your 3 1/2 year-old little one has to remind you 10 times to get her bottle or food.. lol

  • Not Finishing one thing before you are ready to move on to the next.

  • You get bored very easily.

  • Forget Appointments and meetings.

  • It is sometimes very hard just to get started on what seems like a simple job or task.

These are just a brief look through the key hole into our Daily lives.. Everyday is a small battle in the War of Accomplishment and Productivity.

   SOME Key things that help me in different aspects of daily living with ADHD/ADD that may help you :

**Routine seems to be the number one thing for me. The things you Need to get done, do at the same time and the same way every time you do it. This will help you to remember when you have Not done it or finished it.

**Keep a Notepad with you (in your car) somewhere close so that when you think of something you can right it down.

**Keep a To-DO-List in the Notepad or just on a post-it. This will do the remembering for you, you just have to remember to look at it and that is where the Routine comes into play. Make it part of the daily Routine Routine ROUTINE!

**Inform those around you of what is going on and if they care, which I'm sure they do, they will help you however you need them to.

**Relax and give yourself some slack. Perfection is no Fun. Getting things in line and comfortable is what matters. 1 step at a time.

**Give yourself a pat on the back for getting through this read. I'm proud of you. :) and THANK YOU!!

I really appreciate your time and comments! Have a Great day and an even better Year!2017-05-28 08.37.27.jpg

Sort:  

I hear you loud and wow what a cool butterfly.Were did I put my coffee,oh there's my pen....Lol...
🤠
Thanks for the article,and for helping to spread the truth...
Namaste

EXACTLY!! lol. My wife calls it "Squirreling out".. lol Squirrel. lol Thank you!!

Yeah,then throw in permanent brain damage to short term memory,from a motorcycle accident....Pheww.....🤠
...Lol...Sometimes I almost forget to breathe...Lol...
Namaste!

I know what you are talking about and I love all the tips. I never knew I had it and always thought I was stupid. Thank you for your wonderful post.

Congrats, @thinksalot you've been featured on
"Steem is beautiful"
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@steemisbeautiful/what-makes-steem-beautiful-010
I am following, upvoting and featuring you.
Welcome to Steemit > I'm happy you could join us.
Hope this Quick Start Guide will help you:
https://www.steemithelp.net/
george-carlin-WELCOME.gif
Stay Original >Stay Creative > SteemOn Daily

ADHD sounds like a real struggle, thank you for sharing.

Your daughter is super cute

Welcome to Steemit

Congratulations @thinksalot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Why do they say being Ultra Normal is add!! I would rather have every mental illness known to balance it all out and I intend to get sick in all those ways to get better!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58363.73
ETH 2484.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39