You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do people stop dreaming?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

When I was young, all my friends and I thought we'd be rich and famous heroes and write our names in history somehow. We were like roman candles shooting into the sky. One by one, I saw all my friends' fire burn out. They lost hope, gave up and settled for the path of least resistance.

I blame our economy more than them. Businesses pay employees as little as possible and charge customers as much as possible. That's a recipe for hopelessness. I figured, if nothing I do matters, and I'm never getting out of the rat race alive, I have nothing to lose except my dreams. My boss, bank, mechanic, doctor and grocery store already took everything else from me. I'll be damned if they're going to take my dreams too.

So I work part time and write the rest of the week. If I died tomorrow, I doubt the cosmos would see me as a poor person who failed at adulting. It'd see a man who followed his dreams against all odds.

Kudos to your post. Keep writing such inspiring content.

P.S., You might want to break posts this long into two. As a long post-writer myself, I speak from experience. People are more likely to read to the end (where the upvote button is). Plus, posting two short blogs gives you two chances to earn Steem too. So, why wouldn't you?

Sort:  

Thank you for your recommendations, for me it is important. I kept my dreams together, but at a certain moment I lost everything. I did my work mechanically ... in my memories it is displayed like this: I am a happy happy child after two years ... and again I'm happy. Take your own!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52