What's it all about? (Part 2)

in #life4 years ago

I’m following on from my last post because I think it’s a good time to ask ourselves the question, What’s it all about?

Most of the world has been in some sort of lockdown because of the virus, and it has given us a chance to slow down, and pause. We see the daily infection rates and death rates, and quite frankly, I’m hoping that people are asking these sorts of question to themselves – What is life all about, and what happens afterwards?

Why am I so bothered?
Because we’ve become a society where we just don’t ask enough big questions. We’ve become a distracted society, where we focus on things that don’t truly matter. We make ourselves irate with the little things. We make the little things, big things, and consequently we miss the big things.

So I want as many people as read this little humble blog to just ask some simple questions. What am I REALLY here for? I’m just exploring some questions to make us think. I’m asking you to forget all the ‘whats and wherefores’ for a moment, and just think about people. Human beings. Not science, not philosophy, not arguments or theories.

pablo (32).png

I used to be close friends with twins when I was young. They looked so much alike, yet I always assigned certain personality traits very easily to each one. Even though they were identical twins, and formed from the same egg, with so much shared DNA (don’t ask me the science – I looked it up on my googly friend, and I got a whole load of answers I didn’t understand. But it’s a lot, right?) they were still unique in their personalities. As similar as two humans could be, they were still different! Not only were they siblings, reared the same, with the same experiences, culture and background, they were physiologically so similar too. Yet distinct! Why is that? In the nature v nurture debate, twins are a tricky area. From a logical point of view, it doesn’t make a lot of sense. Yet we know from experience that identical twins are so very different.

And this is very interesting. We are all so unique, even identical twins! Yet even though we’re all so unique, and we all experience different upbringing, cultures, life experiences etc, we all have SO many things in common.

One aspect of humanity that I find fascinating is that I have never met anyone who doesn’t like music. Not one person. Of course, we all like different genres of music, but music is common to all. There is something about music that just does something to us, all of us, no matter how different we are, or where we come from. Everyone seems to have a favourite song or a piece of music that just does something so them. It stirs their soul, it invokes certain feelings and makes something within us feel good!

As I mentioned on my last post , love is also something common to all of us. We all want to be loved, and we all have love to give.

There’s certain things that connect us all, and are common to us all. Despite physical distance, cultural differences, religious differences, age, sex, nationality….we all share some similarities. And these link us all together.

In the wider scheme of life, we have to consider, WHY? Why do these things unite us, why do we share these commonalities? Music - why is music such a powerful and enjoyable thing to us? Throughout the ages music has been important, and musical instruments have been found in civilisations from thousands of years ago. Why? I want to point out that music has no evolutionary or primeval benefit to the survival of us as a species. No other animal makes music or revels in music like the human.

So, are we simply a “higher creature” or are we something uniquely designed? The commonality aspect to billions of people over multiple time periods, for aspects that have no overall survival benefit to us (yet we all have in common), is a cause for a pause.
And a question - Why?

As I sign off, the questions we need to ask ourselves is how can we all be so unique, yet all have things that unite us? What is the purpose of that? And how does that relate to my existence here on earth?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49