My hydroponics experiment.

in #life6 years ago

Hydroponics Setup

So about a week ago I was telling you guys about the hydroponics setup that I was doing and we have results.

Firstly I got myself some seeds, palm peat and some nutrients.
IMG_2201.JPG

The nutrients I got looked about right for any application with all the micro-nutrients a plant needs, all in one liquid solution.

IMG_2212.JPG

You can accomplish the goal with just these tools but I found better ways to do things after a while.

IMG_2210.JPG

This is just some plain electrical trunking that i have used but I strongly suggest something square or gutter pipe just for the added strength because water tends to be heavy.

IMG_2208.JPG

IMG_2209.JPG

Here I used the silicon and electrical tape to keep it in place while the silicon dried.

IMG_2206.JPG

Drilled the hole at the bottom for the next level pour.

IMG_2319.JPG

I made the next level the same way but the end of the top level pour pipe went into the top of the level below so there would always be a few millimeters of water left in the system.

IMG_2316.JPG

The water entry point.

IMG_2321.JPG

The overflow.

IMG_2313.JPG

The full system but I still had to move it into the sun this was only testing phase.

IMG_2430.JPG

Here it is moved getting the water flow right was a little hard.

IMG_2436.JPG

IMG_2431.JPG

IMG_2433.JPG

The more you vote the more I can add to this system, I will also be working with water born crops soon.

If you'd like to join school of minnows, click here

School of minnows is hard work, please consider donating:

1.000 SBD
0.100 SBD
0.010 SBD
0.001 SBD

If you like this service, vote for school of minnows as witness

Vote school of minnows for witness!
or (via steemit login)
click here
and do this

Signi.jpg

ॐ we are one ॐ

@thetravelingsa is a punkstiny.pngsteemPunk

Sort:  

Great set up, how hard is it to get hydroponics nutrients locally in your area?
I followed you to check back on your hydroponic set-up. I just set up my first non-circulating system.
https://steemit.com/hydroponics/@doctorspence/my-first-hydroponic-setup---growing-pepp-2018-06-01-02-27-21

Hey there I checked your link, Iv been wanting to try that method and will be setting up something like that in the near future, my first bit of nutrients was not hard to get hold of but not sure about up scaling the operation because this is only 250ml so I can only make about 200 liters of mixed fluid, but I will also be investigating that and I will keep posting updates.

My system works similar leaving a bout 1 liter of mixed nutrients in the system and I add about 1ml to a liter of water. It seems to be much faster using the palm peat and nutrients to sprout and grow then the soil around here because it is quite dry. Let me know how the clay pebbles work out for you I cant seem to source them locally.

I also want to try my hand at some aquatic plants using grow LED's and "buffed water"

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thetravelingsa
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-hydroponics-experiment


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72