Why Did I Go Vegan? What’s Your Reason For not?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

There are so many great things about going vegan, that I honestly don’t even know where to begin. It could be the health aspect, saving the environment, animal activism, religious views, or just because you want to follow a “Trend”.

I became vegan initially for health reasons. As I do most times when I’m interested in things, I research it to a bloody pulp until I fully understand something. Being an Anthropology Major, researching just comes naturally to me. On the other hand, this usually leads me getting lost in the research and falling down a rabbit hole.

This rabbit hole just so happened to be that of the agricultural industry. Holy crap, do we turn the cheek when the realities of food is thrown in our face. The amount of suffering is that like none other. Animals, such as our selves, do not desire to die. We all have a strong will to live. It comes naturally, survival is the key to life. If you survive, then you have succeeded.

After learning this, it solidified the fact that what I was doing, wasn’t just right for myself, but for the greater good of the planet and it’s other sentient beings.

I can now go to bed at night, knowing that nothing had to die for me to thrive on this planet.

Sort:  

Great lifestyle choice I hope it works out for you can take a while to get all those recipes together but its worth it

Thank you! I made a delicious tofu vindaloo yesterday that too no more than 30 min!

I would be interested in seeing a post of this tofu vindaloo recipe, we love Indian food. We have lived in the UK in the past and they have great Indian restaurants with lot of vegan and vegetarian options.

"Animals, such as our selves, do. It desire to die. We all have a strong will to live."

I think there was a typo in here, but ya, exactly.

In my mind it really comes down to not being biased by species. There is still "suffering" (and pain terror devastation etc) that exists. It's just processed in a little bit of a different than human way. And why would you want to cause that?

Great post.

Good catch! Thank you!

I'm impressed by your conviction on vegan diet, not many people know the suffering that animals take to feed human population. Although I'm not vegan this article of yours made me reconsider things, maybe I will not leave meat or dairy products, but I will be more concious and respectful for the living beings. Followed and upvoted
By the way, I'm conducting an experiment in my blog about the problem of overeating, diabetes nd how to reverse it, maybe you'll be interested, I think your support will be helpful :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to read. I’m glad that it was able to impact you in a positive way. I appreciate the support! Heading over to your blog now.

welcome! Glad to see a like minded person joining the platform. Live long and prosper!

There’s so many vegans on here! Just followed you! Let’s keep building the community strong!

The animal agricultural industry is so messed up.

It seems impossible to me that anyone could ever consider any alternative to being vegan after learning about this cruel industry. Thanks for spreading this message, the world needs more people like you!

Awesome shirt by the way, where did you get it?

Thank you! The industry really is a scary place! Steemit has a growing vegan community which is awesome! Keep spreading the movement!

Welcome to the community bro. I smile whenever I see another vegan, knowing fewer animals being food...
Keep going vegan, and try to inspire people by raising your voice.

Exactly! Thank you for reading my dude! Glad to connect with other vegans!

Its my pleasure to welcome you to the community

You should be able to find the platform very enjoyable. With many individuals and many themes, from crypto currency, poetry, stories, photography, art, etc…..
For now, my advice? Get to posting high quality content, and making thoughtful commentary.

I am especially looking forward to sharing in your works. Have you any questions? Just ask and I will be glad to help.
I Followed You And Hope That You Will Follow Back :)
@ssophiee

Great Tshirt great message. I agree. To bad more people don't "get it" they are waking up. Time is all it will take. Just keep sharing the message .
I resteemed it :)

I've had periods of spontaneous veganism in the past when I was strongly emphatic and couldn't get myself to eat "another living thing" but that wears off quickly only to resurface later.

These days, I can't stand seeing animals being killed for food but I dont mind a bowl of drumsticks. its strange.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66