Introduction

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I'll be the first to admit I am not the best writer, the only pieces of writing I've ever done well on are Shakespeare essays, and short summaries. But due to the incessant nagging from my father I decided to join steemit and hopefully come out of my comfort zone. My father took notice of the short books I wrote on an app called Wattpad, I first joined on there to read fan-fiction. I would have never thought that I would begin to write and post on there too, I was very shy about the way I wrote. But I enjoyed it a lot, I wrote every day and still do, from my journal (I refuse to call it a diary) to my stories stored on google docs that are collecting cobwebs.


I have to give a big thanks to my father, he has always encouraged me to do things that I thought were boring but turned out to be fun. When I say father, I mean step father. I was never close to my biological father so my step dad just became that figure in my life and to this day I still call him 'dad'. My mother is also very supportive of my dreams/hobbies she was the one who pushed me the most. A few of my hobbies include reading, writing, and drawing. Basically everything that doesn't need socialization, I'm pretty introverted to be frank. 


Growing up I had trouble making friends so I turned to art and writing as a coping skill. I felt like it was my escape from real world problems. That's why I have so much respect for writers, because they put so much thought and energy into their books and stories. Sometimes when I would write stories on Wattpad, I would plan everything out through my art. I would draw the characters, the settings and color it in using watercolor. I felt like painting it all out really made it come to life in a way. As much as I would love to go full time in writing and make it a job, some people disagree with me. They think it's a dead end, and I will never get anywhere. 


But I have a strong gut feeling that this... this may bring something unique into my life... something beautiful. It may sound crazy, even insane if you will, but how can you know unless you pursue it. That is my attitude towards many things, you never know until you try, and put in all of your effort. A little more about me is that I have two guinea pigs, whom I love very much (maybe even too much) and they know it. Throughout middle school and high school I did have my fair share of mental health problems but I managed to get through them. Granted maybe not in healthy ways for parts of it, but I got better. 


All in all I am hoping that my experience on steemit will be fun, and I hope that I can learn to better my writing. Thank you very much for reading. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88