My Sin Eater

in #life7 years ago

IMG_20170719_234457_292.jpg

Sleep eludes me as I lay to rest. The room, pitch black, is slowly seeming familiar to my eyes. I slide my curtains just a tad bit, and catch the moon, full and beautiful. In the dark of night, a bird flies by.
Absolute silence.
I hear my own breath, the ticking of the clock, the voice of my thoughts. It's been a while now, and sleep still evades. I just lay numb, eyes fixated out in the sky. I never had noticed how the night could get darker. How the stars shone brighter with each second passing by.
In this calm serene, I retrospect upon my life. Trying to sort stuff like an old cupboard, I often forget to enjoy the little things I like.
With each passing second, the moon feels like a long lost friend. It's prominence in the stark darkness is more evident now. Somehow, it feels like the moon's reading me, the most honest and vulnerable version of me.
My lips are mute, and yet my heart pours out it's rants to the moon. The hard toils of the day, the avoidance of happiness and all things wrong in life. The weight of the guilt, suddenly off load. My heart confesses the crimes it has done, and suddenly, I feel so free, unburdened.
The moon, ever radiant, listens to it all, absorbing it sans any flinch. Constant at all times. In all the darkness, it's prominence once soaring, is now slowly at a decline.
As dawn arrives, I see the sky change its color, the invisible brush of life, absorbing back the dark stroke of the night.
The sun rises, in all it's grandeur, to spread light and life to all. On the far end, the moon slowly starts fading away.
I lie still, looking at the moon vanish into oblivion yet again. In the dark of night, the moon had listened to my cry.
As a single tear crawls out of the edge of my eye, I realise the value of the night.
The moon volunteers to be my vessel, absorbs my sins, my rants, and slowly fades away. Locking my secrets forever.
My sin-eater.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49