5 UNUSUAL WAYS I SAVE MONEY FOR TRAVEL (and for other things I care about)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

There are my not-so-secret, not-so-magical tips on how to hoard away your money.

Money.jpg
Insert generic money photo here.

I don’t have any great advice on how to earn money, otherwise this post would be worth a whole lot more. In my experience, being a white American female with a supportive family and a computer engineering degree seemed to do the trick. That’s so helpful, I know.

Also, before you follow any of the advice below, go for the “big savings” first - share costs as much as you can with family or roommates, comparison shop and negotiate on your monthly bills, pay down your high-interest debt, etc.

That said, here are the “crazy little things” I do so that I can save up for the big things I really want to do. As a bonus, most of these items are also designed to save time, because time is money, right? (Also, I’m super lazy.)

1. Drink Only Water

There are few things I love more in this world than a cold glass of water. (I just might be the most boring person ever.) Plus, they say it’s great for your health.

WaterGlass.jpg
YAAAAASS! Beautiful water!

Juices, soda, coffee, and alcohol are expensive and often packed with extra sugars/calories. Alcohol and caffeinated drinks tend to cost the most since they can cause dependencies. In fact, that should be another item on the list: if you want to save money, don’t do recreational drugs. (Is that preachy enough for you?)

One of my favorite parts about living in the United States is that potable tap water is plentiful and every cafe and restaurant offers glasses of water for free, usually cooled by the miracle that is ice.

When I’m abroad or in the woods, I use a water filter on a reusable water bottle to keep my habit going. It pays for itself in a short amount of time.

2. Agonize Over Every Purchase

Put the item you're considering on a list. Walk away. Think about whether that item will actually improve your life. Do you really need it? How much time will it save you compared to the money spent? Will you remember it fondly when you’re at the end of your life? If you can't justify it, remove the item from the list and forget about it.

Stressed.jpg
*Just. back. away. If you're reading this, please take a moment to explore the stock photo world of RobinHiggins.

When making bigger purchases, particularly technology such as a phone or laptop, wait for the latest version to come out and buy the just-barely-obsolete editions for at least 50% off on Craigslist or Ebay. Oftentimes, the used items are still under warranty.

For instance, last year I decided that I wanted a mirrorless camera. I knew it wasn't even close to a necessity, but I had enjoyed a free photography class in the past and figured a fancy camera and the images it captures could be an important part of my life. I chose the Fujifilm X-T1 simply because it looked like the most fun to use.

Then, I waited for the X-T2 to come out. As soon as it did, a lot of people sold their X-T1s. The extra competition in the marketplace drove their prices even lower, and I purchased the $1200 camera for $450 in like-new condition, with a bunch of accessories included. Still scary expensive, but I don't regret it.

Fujifilm.jpg
Not my camera, but how cute/weird is this stock photo?!

During the extra time before the release, I read the camera’s manual online and watched tutorials so I already knew how to use it. And I do use it almost every day.

3. Embrace Looking Terrible

Why, yes, this is the same exact outfit I wore earlier this week - I cycle between three t-shirts, one pair of jeans, two light jackets, and some exercise shorts. I haven’t had a haircut in over a year, and my $7 prescription glasses have a chip out of them. I almost never wear makeup, so the dark circles under my eyes and the zit on my chin are obvious. In short, I look like crap.

MyFace.jpg
My face.

Fortunately, I’ve never had the kind of job that requires looking “professional”, and I’m often (but not always) too distracted to care about how plain-looking I am. People are still friendly to me, and I even managed to attract a boyfriend.

However you look, your health should always come first (and as people with chronic illnesses know, it sometimes does come first in finances).

Use soap and water to fend off illnesses and sunscreen to protect your skin. To stay in shape, you can do yoga and bodyweight exercises at home, using free online videos to get you started. If you can, walk or bike to get around.

These preventative measures for your health should save money in the long run, and your body will thank you.

4. Loaf Around in Public Spaces

Make use of your tax dollars by taking advantage of the amenities offered by your government. You can even hop on public transportation to get there!

If you live near a library, it can be used as a free air-conditioned workspace with internet and books galore. Mine even offers free classes and group activities. There’s a reason so many homeless people hang out there - it’s a sweet deal!

Library.jpg
I could spend all day here. Admittedly, my local library looks nothing like this.

You can also get free books without leaving your home if your library offers e-books. I actually found out I'm eligible for both the county and city libraries, which doubled my selection. If not, check out Project Gutenberg and free Kindle books. You can read them on your phone or computer if you don't have an e-reader.

Public parks are great spaces to enjoy open space and the outdoors. My town's parks host free concerts, movies, festivals, and performances. Outside of town, “dispersed camping” on U.S. National Forest land is also free, so long as you maintain the specified distance from roads, trails, and campgrounds. You can check for similar rules in other countries.

5. Eat Like a 12-year-old


I admit that my diet can verge on pitiful, since I usually eat one or two meals a day. The benefit of this is that it’s inexpensive (and slimming!). Just be sure that you’re getting enough calories to support your body type and lifestyle.

It also helps that I tend to prefer some of the cheaper foods out there. I’ve eaten vegetarian for years, which rules out expensive beef and fish. My boyfriend buys beans and lentils in giant sacks from local farms, and he’s the king at making homemade breads and tortillas from nothing but flour, water, and salt.

At the grocery store, we stock up on oatmeal and pasta and rice, using the per-weight price to find the best deals. We always check whether our favorite splurge items, like Quorn nuggets and Field Roast sausages, are on sale. All these meals are inexpensive and easy to prepare.

Mac and Cheese.jpg
A typical meal. A didn't say they were always healthy!

If there’s one food to invest in, it’s a good spice collection. Spices last for years and can turn bland meals into something varied and flavorful (we even spice up our macaroni and cheese!). To add more color and texture, you can toss in some fresh or frozen produce.

Maybe because so much of what I eat is what I ate as a child, but meal times always feel so fun.


Contrary to the way I’ve titled each section, don’t be masochistic about spending habits.

I used to not heat my apartment during winter because I thought it was wasteful, but spending all my time shivering wasn’t worth it. If you have expendable income, you get to choose your own comfort level, and you must also take into account the comfort of those around you.

Also, all of the above are guidelines, NOT rules. I don't follow them all the time!

For instance, I love bubble milk tea and do a little happy dance every time I get it even though it’s definitely not water. I put on mascara and eyeliner and dress up for special occasions, like a musical or sit-down meal.

But mostly, I save up so I can take breaks from work and splurge on travel. I once spent $1500 in a single week to fly from California to the Bahamas and swim with wild dolphins. It was a wildly selfish act that I would do again in a heartbeat.

More typically, I average $50 a day on the road, including airfare. That's a mid-range budget that balances simplicity and luxury - if you get creative you can do it for much cheaper!

Most happiness comes from within, but I do believe that money can buy happiness, so long as you spend it what actually makes you happy!

For me, it's buying myself free time with the people I care about and trips to new places (along with camping gear and the occasional fancy camera haha). For you, it may be video games or cosplay supplies or concert tickets.

It’s all about priorities.

I like to think of spending money like casting a vote. Care about animal welfare? Purchase products and donate to organizations that reflect that. Is there an author or artist or designer you love? Buy everything they make to support them!

Hopefully, if we spend our money on things we care about, the marketplace will respond by delivering the things that truly make us happier. :)

Thanks for reading! I'm pretty terrible at giving advice, mostly because I don't consider myself an expert, but I do live happily by these guidelines so maybe there's something useful in them. Or, you can tell me why I'm wrong! All the stock photos are from pixabay.com.
- Katie, @therovingreader

Sort:  

Embrace looking terrible. ha ha - done! lol
I do something similar to your "agonize" suggestion. When I'm shopping in a store, if I see something I really like and want, I carry it around the store for a while. Often, just "having" the thing for 10 minutes in the store satisfies that want and I get bored with the thing. 😃

Haha, that's a great tip for physical stores! You can move on thinking, "been there, had that."

Congratulations @therovingreader! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

omg , I also do these things, I was thinking the same topic to write here too. I never spend on expensive coffee, in fact I have never tried Starbucks in my life .would love to know more tips on how you fund ur travel too

I figured some other travelers might relate! :) Since I lived in Seattle for 5 years, I get a lot of Starbucks gift cards but I don't actually like coffee! I usually end up using the gift cards on tea and hanging out for a long time on the free Wifi.

I didnt think myself a big spender.....but after reading this...goddamit im high maintenance. :D I do save a lot on drinks and food...but the rest of the points...lol. I buy the best skin and hair products (to my defence I do have atopic dermatitis) and I dont buy expensive clothes...BUT i do tend to buy them often and change my wardrobe. I use a car..which is super expensive...but decided id rather have this luxury then wake up 3h sooner just to get on time for work (public transport here sux). I may not travel...i do save for my tech toys a lot though.

EDIT: you looking terrible? Lol. I don't look that good with make up! U have gorgeous features...u dont need no make up!

It sounds like you're aware of your expenses and make conscious decisions about them, which is really the main advice I can give. Plus, tech toys are a super fun priority to have.

So many of these tips are only viable under the right conditions - like the public transportation one! My current household actually shares a car which we don't even use enough to justify. A lot of my stingier habits have been softening thanks to living with others.

And thank you! I couldn't find a better example picture because I delete all the ugliest ones haha.

Awesome attitude towards money and life. I loved your following line a lot:

I like to think of spending money like casting a vote.

For me, I love traveling without spending any money at all. And my tip for the same is to not to carny any money along 😜.

you can tell me why I'm wrong!

Yes, I'd like to tell you something here. I gotcha you spent $450 for a Fuji and used all stock photos here! That's really not a fair use for those $450, you know!

BTW, you look very beautiful without any makeup on you. Nature has been very kind on you. Have a good time roving around!

Haha, you got me! I had the same thought when writing this, and was going to find those things to photograph when I was struck by laziness! Then I discovered how interesting the world of stock photography is. Maybe I'll contribute some of my own...

It's a totally different experience trying to travel with no money, you really have to rely on kindness and creativity. Since I do have enough saved up, I like to try to find the best local places to distribute it, but I know there are so many different ways to explore the world.

And thank you! Really I just delete the uglier photos of myself so I didn't have a great example to use there.

Those are great tips! Coming from someone who actually lives a nomadic life, that's already the testament right there. The water one is such an underrated advice. I might have to pick up something like that, because even though I prefer drinking water, I have a weak stomach for it. Talking about, getting amoebiasis quite easily.

In the long run, water is the best option, if you don't want medical fees from drinking too much carbonated drinks or sugar.

Ugh, yes, that's where the water filter comes into play, and I still contract amoebiasis sometimes outside the states! It makes sense why tea is so much more popular in places without the infrastructure for pure water.

Cool post! Right up my "budget travel" alley. Great tips, drinking water and being mindful of every purchase is part of what allows me to travel perpetually! Up-votted and following!

Thanks for checking it out! I don't travel on a super tight budget (mostly because my boyfriend prefers Airbnb and paid homestays to couchsurfing), but I am realizing that these habits mean I can still travel pretty much indefinitely if I choose!

Oh wow. I've never done all three you mention. Airbnb, homestay, or couchsuring. I always negotiate a room at hotels. But it's cool to another like minded person on here. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66