You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Universal Basic Income - A Precursor to the Bigger Issues

in #life7 years ago

Generally speaking I like the Dollar Vigilante, but Jeff Berwick sure can be a dick sometimes.

Today as things stand I definitely DO NOT agree with UBI. I've seen first hand how social safety nets have dis incentivized other wise perfectly able bodied people not to work.

However I can see a time down the road in say 50-60 years where it might be necessary.

It seems like technology just expands exponentially. In my view wealth is created from energy and innovation. In the past, energy came from animals, slave labor, and now machines. What happens when energy is essentially free? Automation is already wiping out lower paying jobs, what do you do for people in a 100 yrs who don't have the skills/ intelligence to add to society?

I don't know the answer, but hopefully it doesn't look like this:
maxresdefault.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60