You want to save a life? 🌟 Get amongst it!!

in #life7 years ago

You give a tiny portion of your blood in exchange for nothing, no payment or reward, to aid a complete stranger's (or more than just one) chances of survival and another chance at life. I dont know about you but I think that is such a lovely gesture, dont you think?

I dont know about other countries, and I'm sure it wouldnt be hard to do anywhere, but we should all try and give blood if we can. It is a really small act which could benefit someone in such a huge way. AND YOU GET UNLIMITED CHOCOLATE BIKKIES AND COFFEE AFTERWARD but yano, I dont do it for the treats - Although it is chocolate. Sue me 😜

I gave blood last night after work. The blood centre nurses are so welcoming and helpful and the needle is barely even noticeable. And for all you woosies out there who cant stand needles or the site of blood, I have three words for you. Grab a snickers!

Yeah, so I give blood every three months - My first donation was when I was 16 because they came into the school and I wanted a free period out of class. Who else didnt do that? who wasnt a woosie of course

Since that first donation, I never really went back until almost two years ago... now comes my sob story 😂 About two years ago now, I had a super major car accident (and sorry, I'm not going into super deep details) and broke my pelvis, couple of ribs and I had a hole in my lung - Dont worry fellow steemians, I'm all healed up. Better than ever, nothing can stop me now.

I never actually needed a blood transfusion but it always reminds me of my worst and what could have happened and since I am now able to help others, I will always try. Plus, did I tell you there was chocolate? haha

So far I've donated 7 times. After my 5th donation I actually got a blood centre travel mug, which was cool except it looked too much like a penis so I got rid of that shit but it was cool to actually be rewarded. And just to add to that, the blood centre have this app you can download so that when your blood has been used, to save a life, you get a notification and let me tell you, when I get those notifications I feel like a real super hero hahaha

If I havent persuaded you to make that donation then I must have been pretty shit in english with all those bloody persuasive speeches but if I have, let me know and I will add you to my super hero squad and give you the secret password 😉 Live happy and help those in need.

Love and light my friends
Jah jah

Sort:  

I went to a blood-letting program 4 times already. I wasn't able to donate in the first 2 times because my sleep wasn't enough and I had a period a few days before which invalidated my blood. The next two times, I was able to donate; one in August and another in December.

I also didn't know that I had to donate every 6 months (for ladies). So when a friend of a friend of a friend needed an A+ blood, I went to the hospital only to find out that I can't give blood because I just donated some. (It was January.) I didn't even think it through because I really wanted to help. My mind only thought, I should give blood. Silly me. It's a good thing I'm not the only person who's about to donate blood. (relieved)

Thats so great @steemangel! We can be blood-giving sisters haha It is quite interesting that you are only permitted to donate every 6 months, what country do you live? We, in New Zealand are fortunate enough to donate every 3 months so I always make my next appointment when I leave.

It does suck when you really want to help someone, especially personally known to you, and cant - But I do hope that friend of a friend of a friend is healthy and well now.

I hope so too. Thank you @thereceptionist! Well, men are allowed to donate every 3 months but ladies are suggested to donate every 6 months because we have our monthly period meaning we always loose blood and regenerate new ones.

Oh yes, that makes sense. Better to be safe than sorry right?

I hope you do too @steemangel New Zealand really is a beautiful place. Where abouts in the world are you from?

Mint! I'd love to visit the Philippines one day. Heres to the future! May all our dreams come true :)

You are a real super hero, what you are doing is fantastic. I wish I could give blood but I'm always anaemic so they won't let me. Keep doing what your doing. Upvoted and followed :)

Thanks @karenb54 :) Gotta look after yourself first though, main priority!

Very true :)

I have a friend whose life was recently saved thanks to a blood transfusion, so I totally value the gift of blood. Thanks for the reminder.

I used to give blood, but they won't take it anymore.

I was in the UK during the mad cow disease outbreak working on a farm - with a mad cow (called Ferrit). So they don't want my blood any more.

I still donate it though, usually by taking the skin off my knuckles when I'm carrying a stretcher as part of the response team hehehe

haha I think you may have caught the mad diesease. Exactly how close were you with Ferrit?

Not as close as I wanted to be at the time ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40