'Monopoly Money' - Part 1: Personal Experiences With Gambling

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Image Credits

What is 'Monopoly Money'?

In my absurd reality, 'Monopoly Money' is money with absolutely zero value behind it alongside how in the game Monopoly, the currency has no "real world" value. @npl77 shared this term with me as I was brainstorming what to call money with no value behind it. Frankly, I think this term fits impeccable for the definition.

For the past few weeks now 'Monopoly Money' has been a huge stressor for me. It has been an open thought on my mind every single day, approaching my mind at least 1 time an hour. My mind has generated 150+ 'Monopoly Money' scenarios in this time. I plan to share some of these scenarios through a series of blogs, including this one being about personal experiences with gambling.

Enjoy!


'Monopoly Money' - Gambling

Image Credits

I believe that gambling is the most infamous scenario (form) of 'Monopoly Money', whether you want to believe it or not, it is. In fact, I have been gambling since I was 6 (Now 15). I know what you are thinking after reading that, you must have some terrible parents! Right? No, to be honest, if you have kids there is a high chance that they have gambled at some time in there childhood. Rather it be a scratch off lottery ticket you or a grandparent buy them or betting with a friend on a football game, there is a high possibility your child has gambled in some form or way.

Image Credits

Today, I want to share some of my personal experiences with gambling.

Note: As of July 20th, 2016 (The day I started Steemit) I haven't gambled nor will I ever in the future.

As I stated above, I have been gambling since I was 6 years of age. At age 6, my grandpa introduced me to scratch off lottery tickets. From there on out, every Christmas and birthday my grandpa would buy me a few lottery tickets. I thought they were really fun considering I had a chance to win money.

After my 4 year lottery ticket crave where I gained 0 money from, I started betting on football games as well as wagering for money on the video game, Madden, through a twitter community. This went on for almost 3 years and I was scammed multiple times while wagering and betting. I’d say I was scammed over $300 in the 3 years I was in the community for.

My most recent gambling experience I had was playing DFS (Daily Fantasy Sports) on Fanduel and Draftkings. I would see "Chance To Win $XXXK Today" every single day on both of these gambling websites. It’s absolutely despicable that I was addicted to having the slimmest of "chances" to win ‘Monopoly Money’.

I truly am blessed that I found an alternative in Steemit as I would still be gambling right now. Since I earn my money on Steemit, it has really taught me the true value of money. With cryptocurrencies being on a blockchain, people could start legal gambling websites like Fanduel and Draftkings of crypto; I do pray this doesn’t happen as it will bring negativity to the crypto-community as a whole. Another reason gambling is horrific is because it causes depression, negativity, and greediness. This information on depression, negativity, and greediness will be covered in my next ‘Monopoly Money’ blog plus much more!


If you are looking forward to more 'Monopoly Money' blogs and others, follow me!

STEEMUrl.png


Recommended Steemers To Follow

@craig-grant
@kyriacos
@lasseehlers


Picture of me, I am 15 years of age! :)

Sort:  

You have a good writing style for a 15 year-old for sure. I think Steemit will serve you well! Stay away from the temptation of gambling. It's an addiction just like sugar, drugs, you name it!

Thanks @tfeldman, I enjoy your content as well. You are 100% right, I will stay away from it! Cheers!

Great content Nolan , Keep up the awesome work ! Proud of you !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67015.44
ETH 3247.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64