Why nature always wins in the dystopian future.

in #life7 years ago

Why is it that often in stories describing dystopian futures the takeover of nature is a indicator of decline? Life returns to a before time, before the earth got knackered out by people and all their detritus and mis-handling.

Is it possible that a real dystopian future is actually an earth devoid of anything. The legacy of mankind being the total decimation.

The idea of nature winning is actually hopeful. Maybe that is what makes the perfect dystopia story, the glimpse of possibility that life will carry on despite us.

So in reflection of this train of thought which has come from on going project research and a summer reading list full of dystopian Sci-Fi, I have sought out this images from my collection.

20170321_162444.jpg

A marriage of structures, a balance between two partners, in support and strong holding. Wonder which one will win out eventually.

Sort:  

Maybe we both win?
But even if we both lose, the planet itself will most likely remain where it is.

Maybe in some form or another it will, but I am not sure what resemblance it will have to now (in formal terms). I maybe writing my own fiction and am clearly being heavily influenced by all the reading that I have undertaken to do. But am throughly enjoying the places its taking me too and any conversation with others that it might open up if only to make me consider the everyday of my time.

I meant if humans lose, and disappear from the surface of the Earth, then there’ll be nobody left to debate what Earth looks like.

Yes there is that! Was just reading the first chapter of your book..

Thanks. I hope it wasn't too boring...

Not at all looking forward to reading more.

That's uplifting :-)

Why is it that often in stories describing dystopian futures the takeover of nature is a indicator of decline?

It's an interesting question when looked a little differently; why is it that often in pictures showcasing human progress the absence of nature is an indicator of success? I say this in reference to any of our modern skylines.

Your question may have been rhetorical, but I think the reason is that humans think they're better than Nature. After all, we take every single one of her free gifts and repackage them for a price. Even air! Carbon tax. For some reason, despite working solutions proposed by nature, man's ceaseless desire means that everything for free isn't enough.

Why is it that often in stories describing dystopian futures the takeover of nature is a indicator of decline?

Because it shows that Humans have lost, and aren't really as smart as they think they are.

I agree, we commodify all that we can get our grubby mitts on and often exercise misplaced judgement over what should be prized and celebrated. Thank you for commenting and registering my pondering.

Life will definitly go on without us. We need the earth, nature but they don´t need us. But I don´t think it´s about winning or loosing (anymore). How about a new kind of symbiosis?

Symbiosis is an interesting term to consider in this conversation. Thinking about what relationship would end and what would flourish. Nature is a fantastically adaptable and it seems in even the most perceivable infertile settings a myriad of life thrives. So even in my imagining of a world scorched it will find a way.
I feel like a pessimist playing chess with optimism :)

Gorgeous pic. Planet earth would manage perfectly fine without us. I guess we should be award of that and hope she doesn't flick us off...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63