Is Boredom an Option?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

05160da16f8a243808368502a564f3dd70a115-wm.jpg
Same as many other persons, I have had phases in my life when I was under a lot of stress due to deadlines and rensponsibilities but I also from time to time enjoyed peacefull periods when I could rest and once again re-start some hobbies of mine or pursue other interests.
One thing ,that has occured to me many times and once again now, because you see..., nowdays I have tons of free time, is that when I am under pressure and with no free time I just think about all those things that I am going to do, and then when I have so much time, I just can't find the motivation to start not even half of all those things I seemed to want so much.
So I asked myself, what is boredom? What is the reason that so many of us do so little of what we wish we should be doing??
Boredom occurs when we can not do what we want to do or when we have to do something we do not want to do.
Sometimes one might think that he has absolutely no idea of what he wants to do, or even worse that whatever he does has absolutely no meaning at all.
Excessive boredom just like melancholia can lead to anxiety and depression, it is like a pre-state before more major depressive symptoms, the only difference is when you suffer from melancholia you seem a lot sexier.
Everything starts from boredom said the great Dostoevsky, and if god really exists then he must have created us out of boredom as well.
Boredom as a factor of human behavior, has received much less attention than it deserves. It has been, I believe, one of the greatest driving forces throughout the history of humanity, and today in an age where our life span is extremely high and our needs well met, boredom can be the force that will make the individual to shake its everyday comformity.
It is not a matter of free time, not a matter of place and certainly not a matter of lack of resources like stannis beratheon quoted. Maybe someday it was but it is not anymore.
Boredom is the lack of meaning, and just like meaning you can also find its absence in every corner in this world.
Don't feel bad If you didn't get the point because I wasn't trying to make one.
upvote & follow: @theokritos
αρχείο λήψης.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kritos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77