A Life on the Throne

in #life8 years ago

Today, the 6th of February, Queen Elizabeth of Great Britain celebrates 65 years since her coronation. A longevity record marked by a period of lasting stability and wisdom in a era that started out pretty tumultuous, with lots and ups and downs, and lately seems to have gotten on the "Crazy Train" again. But her reign managed to keep the country stable in all these years.
Proclaimed monarch after the death of her father, George the 6th, the hero of a movie that impressed me (and the Academy Award judges), with its complexity and depth. In the movie, Bertie, as he was known to his family, must defeat prejudice and the turmoils of his life and the era he lived in, along with overcoming his speech impediment, to rise as a symbol of determination for his country. (I'm talking, of course about the greatly-awarded "The King's Speech", which is marked by the brilliant performance of Geoffrey Rush and most of all Colin Firth)

That wall behind him is as complex as his acting.

But, back to the righteously celebrated crown of the day, I must say that regarding her own personal achievements and exceptional life, I surely hope and eagerly expect when a movie about her will be made, one which I will be sure to watch as soon as possible!
So, in honor of today's event, I am happy to say that, even though I am Romanian, I certainly can't deny the wast beauty of the English language and it's potential for poetry and prose alike. So I would like to consider that, besides this anniversary, Elizabeth the Second could be proclaimed the Sovereign of English language lovers from around the whole world!

And long may she and the language of Shakespeare live!

Sort:  

I an watching the Crown on Netflix at the moment. She has a very interesting story.

You should watch the series Crown.. I don't know how genuine it is but I enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37